RSS

Homemade pizza – no rocket science

28 Mar

I have mentioned before about making pizza at home and some of you had asked me to post it as well. And me being me, took only a little more than a year to post it. So without any further adieu or preamble, here goes.

2 1/4 tsp Yeast (I use dry active)
2 tsp Sugar
6 cups of whole wheat flour (Note: You can do half whole wheat and half All Purpose, for a lighter crust and you can use just All Purpose flour as well.)
1 cup warm milk (or enough to knead the dough)
2 tsp of Olive Oil

Mix sugar and yeast to 1/2 cup of luke warm water and let it froth up. Mix the above yeast mixture with flour.
Add warm milk and knead the dough. Knead it for about 5 minutes till the dough is soft and elastic.
Coat olive oil on the dough ball and the container wall
Cover the container with a tight lid and leave it in a warm spot in your house (or oven) and let it rise overnight
Punch down the dough and leave it to rise in the refrigerator (after blanketing the dough with plastic wrap and covering the container with a tight lid) and let it raise multiple times.

Note: The longer the dough is let to sit, the better the pizza is; so prepare the dough atleast couple of days in advance.

The pizza dough is now ready. You can divide the dough into 4-5 equal balls, and roll out to a circle of about 8-12 inches diameter, evenly.

At this stage, you can add sauce, cheese & toppings of your choice to the pizza.

Pizza has to be baked in a pre-heated oven (500° F) for about 10 minutes.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2010 in Cooking, Italian

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Homemade pizza – no rocket science

  1. shankari

    March 29, 2010 at 8:46 AM

    We end up making Indian style toppings all the time ๐Ÿ™‚ Love the colors on yours

    I have been meaning to try Indian style toppings too, may be next time ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  2. Mythreyee

    March 30, 2010 at 12:54 AM

    That is such a wonderful treat. I’d love to top it with some Jalapeรฑos too. Seems like it is definitely not a rocket science. Let me try this one day.

    Sure, let me know how it turns out. – A-kay

     
  3. Dinesh

    March 30, 2010 at 4:10 PM

    Looks yum! Can this be done in a Microwave? What are the options for people in India? I hate the Pizza here, they just go in and block the crap in me.Never used to have such problems while having Pizza in US, especially the local pizzeria (not Pizza hut). I really really need a pizza that can match what I had there ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Didn’t realize you moved back for good. I used to like the local Pizza chain in Chennai, didn’t have such problems. Anyway, I hear that there are microwave that also double up as conventional oven in India. If you have one of those, then you can use that to bake pizza. I have also heard of making pizza on the stove-top, never tried that myself so can’t vouch for the quality but that is another option for you. – A-kay

     
  4. UL

    April 7, 2010 at 2:42 AM

    i meant to comment on this one yesterday…this is something i am definitely gonna try….i love to bake…and this sounds such fun to do with my daughter…she already made a pizza at this b’day do she attended last summer, so she would be the expert i suppose ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh yeah – you can definitely do this with her, she would absolutely love not just the making pizza but guiding you along as well, am sure ๐Ÿ™‚ – A-kay

     

Leave a comment