RSS

Crispy Kale

17 Jan

Yes, you heard that right! Kale can be made into awesome crisps and if you have not tried them so far, you should right away and I swear, you will be addicted to it. I didn’t know that crispy Kale was all the rage, till K told me about it, after having tried it in his cafeteria. I tried it too and loved it.

In my head, I went – “Well, it is crispy which means in all probability it is fried and anything that is fried tastes good” and right then, as if he was reading my thoughts, K interjected with a “You know, they are actually baked” quip. I had not the least clue as to how to make this but figured as always, Google will be my partner in crime. When I read the many links and the recipes, to say that I was surprised will be an under-statement. I never imagined that this will be so simple to make. Believe me, it takes all of 10 mins from start to finish and that includes about 7 mins of baking time. Go figure!

Few handfuls of clean & dry Kale leaves
2 Tbsp of EVOO

Set the temperature in the oven to 350 F.
Toss the Kale leaves with EVOO (just make sure that leaves are fairly well-coated in oil. You can use more or less based how big or small your hands are 🙂 ).
Spread it on a baking tray and bake for about 5-7 mins till the leaves look crispy but have’t started to brown (they should remain bright green).

I didn’t season this with anything and we loved it as is. You can season it with salt and/or red chilli flakes, if you prefer. You can also add minced garlic to the Kale while baking. I am sure it will taste equally delicious, however you chose to flavor it.

A healthy dish that can’t get easier to make and tastier than this. Enjoy!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2012 in Cooking, Italian

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Crispy Kale

  1. shy

    January 18, 2012 at 8:07 AM

    what?..adding kale to this week’s grocery list

     
    • A-kay

      January 18, 2012 at 9:12 AM

      I know 🙂 kale is super healthy and this dish is super delicious – can’t get better than that.

       
  2. UL

    January 23, 2012 at 8:45 AM

    Mm yum, i love kale…and i put everything in the oven – instead of fry….so this i can do. thank you….

     
    • A-kay

      January 23, 2012 at 6:53 PM

      Yes, this you can definitely do. As I was typing this recipe, I was thinking that finally I am posting something that UL can/will try for sure. So, yes please try this and let me know how it turns out.

       

Leave a Reply

 
