RSS

Mixed Vegetable & Tofu Stew

20 Jan
Mixed Vegetable & Tofu Stew

Stew is typically slow-cooked, with chunky vegetables which steeps in the flavor. The last few weeks, stews/soups/salads have kept me company as I strive to eat more vegetables and limit grains. Stew comes particularly handy, if you are cooking for crowd with varying preference as it can be eaten like a soup, with or without a bread on the side or over rice or chappathi/roti.

I have used a variety of vegetables + Tofu that I had in hand. You can tailor the recipe to your preference by adding/omitting vegetables. Cauliflower, beans, peas will make a nice addition. This is a classic winter dish and you can use the squashes or tubers found in abundance now, to this stew. Warm stew on a cold winter evening will be just perfect!

Mixed vegetables (cut into cubes) – ~2 cups (I used Zucchini, Carrot, Bell-pepper, celery)

Tomato – 1 medium size, cut finely

Coconut oil – 2 tsp

Tofu – 1  package with 4 pieces, cut into cubes

Soy Sauce – 3 tsp

Turmeric powder – 1 tsp

Chilli powder – 2 tsp

Coriander powder – 1 tsp

Cumin powder – 1 tsp

Creamed coconut – 4 tsp

First, in a wok, add about a tsp of coconut oil and shallow fry the tofu.  When the tofu is almost done, add the soy sauce and saute the tofu till the soy sauce evaporates.

Closer look at the tofu…

Now, in a thick-bottomed vessel (I use my tried and tested cast iron pot), add the remaining tsp of oil, saute the tomato and the vegetables in high-flame (this gives the vegetables an almost roasted look and taste).  If you are using onion, you can add the onion at this point, as well.   Add the turmeric, chilli, coriander and chilli powders as well at this point.   Add the creamed coconut and about a cup of water and let it simmer for a few mins.

Note: I avoid using the BPA-laden canned goods and since was too lazy to make my own coconut milk, was looking for an alternative.  That is when I stumbled upon the creamed coconut @ Amazon and have been using it for a while as a substitute for both ground fresh coconut as well as coconut milk, by mixing with water.  I have found this to be very convenient and tasty without the negative effects of the canned good.  Please note that I am not paid or asked to review this product, this is my personal opinion that I decided to share for the benefit of the readers this blog.

At this point, dump the sauteed tofu to this boiling mixture.

That’s it, you’re done!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2012 in Desi Chinese, Thai

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Mixed Vegetable & Tofu Stew

  1. shy

    January 20, 2012 at 8:14 PM

    wow…I quite like 1) delicious looking stew 2)frequent posting 3) alright I like you also.

    akay, I did not know about BPA in canned food. always associated BPA with only plastic. Though I don’t use canned food a lot, coconut milk comes from can( 1 can a month unless holydays), campell’s cream of mushroom from can, red kidney beans/chick peas are from can..actually that is it. I can reduce further..Thanks for this sneaked in info..very valuable..you spread the awareness today..

     
    • A-kay

      January 20, 2012 at 11:18 PM

      Thank you 🙂

      I have known about the BPA in canned food for a while and hence was looking for a coconut milk alternative for a while. I tried buying the tetra-pack coconut milk (it is sold along with almond milk, rice milk etc as dairy alternatives) but that has some preservatives etc and also it is more suited to drink which is what it is intended for and not in curries and stuff. This one is a good alternative for cooking purposes.

       
  2. Maha

    January 21, 2012 at 10:25 AM

    The creamed coconut is a very useful tip, will check it out. Like the recipe. Didn’t realize we have to wait for soy sauce to evaporate!

     
    • A-kay

      January 21, 2012 at 10:06 PM

      You don’t have to necessarily wait for the soy sauce to evaporate – just that I do it that way, as it helps tofu absorb the sauce and crisp nicely…

       
  3. UL

    January 23, 2012 at 3:07 PM

    i am not a big fan of tofu but i love stew and make all sorts of stew – potato is my main ingredient and then all the veggies…i noticed that you said one could add onions if they’re using them at one point – do you not use onions and garlic at all? i wondered if you followed the saatvic diet without onions and garlic

     
    • A-kay

      January 23, 2012 at 6:57 PM

      No, I use onions (but garlic I use very sparingly as I am not used to eating a lot of it) but this recipe was made without onions as I made it for a pot-luck dinner after a satsang. I am not consciously following a saatvic diet but on most days, it so happens that I eat one…

       
  4. UL

    January 26, 2012 at 6:58 PM

    nice very nice….good to hear that.

     

Leave a Reply

 
