RSS

Suggestions for Swiss Chard?

18 Nov

My summer vegetable patch was a complete failure this year due to soil quality and the location of the patch; I have no one else to blame but myself for this as I picked the spot for the patch and failed to check the soil quality even though K cautioned me. So anyway, I decided to do a fall vegetable patch – one of the advantages of living in sunny California, I hoped – to redeem myself and my green thumb. So around September when my anna (tamil for elder brother) was visiting us, like the good sister that I am, made him and K sweat it out in our back-yard to get the patch going. After a good two months, I have something to show for all our efforts. Our first harvest – Swiss chard leaves.

They are so dainty and pretty that I don’t feel like chopping and cooking them 😦

For a change, I am going to ask for recipes instead of posting them. So, do you have any interesting recipes/ideas to cook chard?

 
11 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2011 in Garden

 

Tags:

11 responses to “Suggestions for Swiss Chard?

  1. shy

    November 18, 2011 at 8:21 PM

    indeed very pretty..leaves of your hardwork ( I mean Ks and Annas).
    we never planted swiss chard; but every summer we have plenty of Red cheera( I don’t know the english name, if there is one at all)-looks similar but red in color.

    this is what I do.coarse chop the leaves. sputter mustard seed in 2tsp oil, add bit of fine chopped garlic, chopped 2-3 shalots adn green chillies. I always add pinch of turmeric powder to all greens. in 2-3 mts(when shalots done-not browned), add the leaves, salt and some grated coconut. cover it with lid. I don’t like it too cooked. so I switch off the stove at this point and let it kinda cook with its steam. 5-10 mts open the lid, mix it well. voila ‘Thoran’ ready. thoran= dry vegetable/leaves.

    haha for a change I am giving you recipe. swami..where is the world going:)

     
    • A-kay

      November 21, 2011 at 3:47 PM

      Shy, that was a neat recipe. Made it for lunch yest and both K & I loved it. I omitted coconut as I was not sure how shallots + coconut combo will be, next time will be more brave 🙂

       
      • shy

        November 21, 2011 at 7:08 PM

        missy, glad you liked the recipe and made it your own.
        However, don’t call it thoran because thoran is not thoran without grated coconut in it. oh dear shalots and coconut always go together. in kerala we make shalot (small red onion) thoran- so brace away. don’t believe me..do a google search ‘ulli thoran’ . ulli is mallu for shalots
        i had to come here to chat and peek ‘were you brave to use MY recipe..hhaha

         
      • Apar

        December 2, 2011 at 4:46 AM

        Hey Shy, ulli is shallots in telugu too!! 🙂
        Nice recipe.
        And Akay…nice to see you posting again!! 😀 How have you been?

         
  2. sangeetakhanna

    December 2, 2011 at 11:14 PM

    For starters i experiment with many greens in my daals and egg bhurjis too…garlic is great with most greens and so is whole dry red chilly as a tempering.

    never tried red chard though. But beet greens i love using with daal and cooked like punjabi sarson ka saag…have posted beet greens saag with makki ki roti.

     
  3. A-kay

    December 5, 2011 at 10:21 AM

    I don’t eat eggs bug adding greens to daal is something I do often too. I have a bunch of kale in the fridge and plan to do the punjabi sarson ka saag with that.

     
  4. UL

    December 27, 2011 at 3:57 PM

    i knew Shy would beat me to this….i make thoran with swiss chards and they’re always yum…and like Shy said, dont leave out the coconut…at least in Kerala we dont 🙂

     
    • A-kay

      December 28, 2011 at 10:58 AM

      Yes yes – I heard that from Shy too 🙂 I couldn’t think of adding coconut and onion in the same dish and omitted it. Will never do that again!

       
  5. TheTasteTinkerer

    January 5, 2012 at 12:13 AM

    Hi A-Kay
    Happy New Year!
    You’re adventurous in having a green patch! I’m glad my yard survives thanks to sprinklers!!!
    Another idea for Chard is massaging the cut leaves with a little bit of olive oil, salt and pepper, and let sit for about 15 minutes. Then you can add a light dressing, roasted almonds, sliced granny smith apples and raisins to make a salad.
    Or, sauté the chard in olive oil with one minced garlic, salt and pepper and finish with lemon/lime juice. I’ve also cooked chard like Palak with a onion-tomato-green chili masala…both of these are great sides with rice and dal or chapati and dal.

    Enjoy!!
    TT

     
    • A-kay

      January 6, 2012 at 5:03 PM

      Happy new year to you too, TT. Trust you to come up with an interesting recipe 🙂 That sounds really wonderful and will try that with my next harvest, which is already over-due. Thanks!

       
    • Chelsy

      February 10, 2012 at 2:52 PM

      Roast the chard with some olive oil, ooinns, garlic, other veggies and some herbs of your choosing. Roasted greens have a wonderful flavor.

       

Leave a Reply

 
