RSS

Dressing up dosas

13 Nov

Couple of weeks back, as I was reading my daily quota of news on Google, I came across this article on dosas. I was quite surprised to see our plain old dosas getting prime-time on WSJ. The article screamed “Move over tortillas, dosas are a-coming!”.

Anyway, proud as I was of the attention our dosas were getting, I forwarded the link to friends and family. And this led to an email exchange with one of them on how the dosas morph in our kitchen. That gave me an idea and I decided to share the different avatars dosas take in my kitchen. Without counting the plain dosas with chutneys and milagai podi (although literally means chilli powder it isn’t quite that).

a) Use dosa as a wrap and stuff it with a dry roasted mixed vegetable sabji (called as “kari” – not the same as curry – by tamilians). The traditional one is, of course, made with potato and called “Masala Dosai”, but you can use any vegetable or combination of them, optionally with paneer, to make a dry sabji, with any spices of your choice, and use it as stuffing.
b) Make a mean paneer burji or even chilli paneer for a more protein filled meal.
c) Make a pizza or quesadilla out of dosa by adding cheese and jalapenos (or red chilli flakes). You can also add slightly roasted veggies to make it a complete veggie dosa-pizza. This can be either served open, like a pizza, or closed, like a quesadilla.
d) A trick that I picked from my MIL – when you have just a few ladles of batter left, add a handful or two of rava (semolina) to the batter, add chopped ginger, onion (optional), green chillies to make (onion) rava dosa. Of course, you can use this as a base and stuff veggies, paneer etc.
e) When the batter is fairly old and heavily fermented, make uthappams (thick dosas) with it. Add chopped tomatoes, chillies, onions on top for a colorful veggie uthappam.


So, now tell me, what shape and form does a dosa take in your kitchen?

 
20 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2011 in Cooking, Desi, Traditional cooking

 

Tags: , , , ,

20 responses to “Dressing up dosas

  1. Suman

    November 13, 2011 at 6:36 PM

    These are the dosai avatarams in our household

    1. Kuzhi paniyaram
    2. Capsicum onion uthappam
    3. Tomato dosai (blend tomato and add it to dosai batter)
    4 Veggie dosai (grate carrots and cabbage to the dosai batter)

    I came across this healthier version of dosai recipe a few years back. Soak urad dhal and a tea spoon of thoor dhal for a few hours. Blend it. Add raagi (1 measure of urad will require three measures of raagi) to the batter. Add salt, and the batter is ready. I generally don’t ferment it. I always mean to add a spoon or two of flaxseed powder but never get around to doing it.

     
    • A-kay

      November 13, 2011 at 7:23 PM

      Oh yes, I forgot Kuzhi Paniyaaram; I do that too, with veggies. I haven’t heard of the raagi one, sounds interesting.

      But I would suggest you to ferment before you eat as it removes the ant-nutrients in the grain. Most ancient methods of grain (and legume) preparation involved fermentation for this reason.

       
      • Suman

        November 14, 2011 at 6:06 AM

        Any tricks for fermenting in winter months? I leave it in the oven after adding a ladle of old batter or left over rice.

        Always thought fermenting was for the taste rather than nutrition. Can you shed more light? Fermented dosai/idli batter is better than chapathi – really? Tell me more please!

         
      • A-kay

        November 15, 2011 at 11:12 AM

        Read this – http://wholehealthsource.blogspot.com/2008/11/real-food-ix-idlis.html. There are a few links in this post that talks about fermentation that you might find interesting.

         
  2. shy

    November 13, 2011 at 7:50 PM

    am I thrilled to see this! And guess what, today I have made dosa batter inspired by our conversation. Normally Dosa is sunday lunch in my house,whenever i make. And kids eat more rotis for weekday dinners. My plan is to cut down their roti (wheat) intake with fermented rice and legumes ( thanks to you dear for the previous ). Many of the dosas you mentioned are going to churn out from my kitchen..modified stuffing with some meat..

    should I thank you for the post or you thank me ( as always) for the inspiration?…I didn’t say I am done with the attention craving…did I?

    keep it coming..the posts.

     
    • A-kay

      November 13, 2011 at 8:48 PM

      Well, I ain’t done with attention craving, so am sure, so aren’t you πŸ™‚ Fermented grains is much better than wheat, which is not processed the way it used to be, no questions there. You can also do egg dosa, if you don’t already.

       
  3. Raaga

    November 13, 2011 at 9:24 PM

    I have migrated to a weekly meal plan. My dinner for tomorrow night is to have dose with a vegetable thuvayal. I plan to soak some urad tonight and mix it with ragi, jowar and bajra flours.

    The pesarattu type of thing is also great to use as a base for a masala dose kind of thing where you keep the overall carb low.

     
    • A-kay

      November 13, 2011 at 9:59 PM

      Weekly meal plan? Now that sounds interesting, care to share more details?

      You know, you are the second person tell me about the urad with raagi and other flours. I am going to give that a shot soon, once my current batch of dosa batter gets over.

      Pesarattu is a good variation on the traditional dosa. So is adai with the must-have aviyal.

       
  4. spillay

    November 14, 2011 at 2:28 AM

    Hi A-Kay. Fantastic post! We love dosas – but, unfortunately don’t have them often enough. After reading this post, I’m now motivated to seek out and indulge in dosas again (In case you’re wondering – No,.. I don’t make them myself at home) … Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

     
    • shy

      November 14, 2011 at 6:58 AM

      sp, where the heck were you? on the call of dosa you popped up? I know you may be active in FB where I am not present. after your blog got privatised, I had no glimpses inot your world. hope you are doing well..hubby and kids. nice to see you here.

      akay, hope you don’t mind my socailising in your space:)

       
      • A-kay

        November 14, 2011 at 10:45 AM

        I agree with Shy, nice to see here after such a long time spillay. If I knew dosa would do the trick, I would have made it long time back πŸ™‚

        Shy, not at all, socialize away!

         
  5. zephyr

    November 14, 2011 at 4:11 AM

    There is one variation that my family and friends love: cut up onions, green chillies and curry leaves and mix with the batter. Take a thick bottomed kadhai and season it with a tsp oil .Pour a couple of ladlesful of the batter, drizzle oil on the sides and cover and cook for a while till the edges turn crisp and brown. Flip over remove the lid and cook on the other side. You can make larger ones too but it takes longer to cook and become crisp. Enjoy!

     
    • A-kay

      November 14, 2011 at 10:48 AM

      Yes – I remember amma making this, especially when the batter towards its end of life and heavily fermented. We would love the crispy (morumoru) layer and haven’t eaten this (and never tried) in a long long time. Thanks for reminding, Zephyr!

       
  6. varsha

    November 20, 2011 at 8:39 PM

    I love the ideas floating here . Fermented grains and legumes Rock healthwise – and are yummy too.I always call my Uttappams -Indian Pizzas and my kids love them :))

     
    • A-kay

      November 20, 2011 at 9:21 PM

      Yup – can’t agree with you more. I have re-discovered my love for fermented grains and legumes and stock my fridge with them regularly these days. Life is easy, cooking-wise and health-wise πŸ™‚

       
  7. Anila

    November 29, 2011 at 4:37 PM

    Dosas are a staple in our household.We have dosas on two nights,idli one night,Pesarattu once in two weeks, kerala appam once in two weeks.Appam is also made by soaking and grinding rice.I have made kuzhi paaniyaram also when the maavu is few days old.

     
    • A-kay

      November 29, 2011 at 5:55 PM

      Next time I come to Philly, you have to make Kerala appam for me, ok? πŸ™‚

       
      • Anila

        December 2, 2011 at 4:29 AM

        Sure.I will make it for you.

         
  8. Apar

    December 2, 2011 at 4:54 AM

    Apart from the dosa varieties you mentioned & variations on my blog… the ever famous one at home with A http://aakashprabhu.blogspot.com/2007/06/mickey-dosa.html πŸ™‚

     
  9. UL

    December 27, 2011 at 3:54 PM

    Whoa – so much about dosa…i have questions regarding wheat….- i might have missed out on the point with all the emails that went back and forth, let me go back to them and then get back to you….

     

Leave a Reply

 
