RSS

Peppery Cauliflower

22 Oct

I was introduced to the world of blogs a few years back, when the blogs were few and far between and it was easy to follow the handful of blogs. Then, the blogs proliferated and much as I would have liked to keep myself abreast, it is just not possible to read all the blogs that pique my interest. That’s where Google Reader came to my rescue and whenever I found a blog that I liked, I followed it by adding it to my reader (*hint hint* add my blog to your reader, if you haven’t done so already 🙂 ). Anyway, my friends and I share and exchange notes on the blogs that we follow and I have come across quite a few new blogs through them.  One such gem is Mriganayani, oh I love the name, introduced by my dear friend, Arch.  I scanned through her blog and the one recipe that caught my interest was Cauliflower Pepper Fry.  I love pepper (so much that I add it to my chai, for kicks!) and the combination looked like a match made in heaven.

I followed her recipe to the T with few minor changes and made it dry, as I was going to have it with rice.  This goes perfectly with rice as well as rotis and may make an awesome sandwich filling too.

1Tsp Black pepper
1 Tsp Cumin Seeds
2 red chillies
1 Tsp ghee
1 Onion – cubed
1 onion – chopped
1 caulilfower – cut into florets
1 Tsp – Turmeric
1 Tsp -salt (more or less based on your taste buds)
1 Tbsp – Almond Butter

For Thalippu (Tempering)

1 Tsp – Mustard
Few curry leaves
1 Tsp  – Oil (Vegetable or Sesame or Coconut)

Saute the cubed onion with the spices (Black pepper, cumin & red chillies) in ghee and grind them to a paste.

In a deep dish, add the ingredients for tempering and wait till the mustard finishes it dance and cools down.  Now, add the chopped onions, wait till turns semi-translucent and then add the cauliflower, turmeric and salt.  Close the dish and let it cook till the cauliflower is almost done.  I like my cauliflower cooked but crunchy, so I just cooked for about 7-8 minutes, if you want it well done, cook for a little longer.

Add the ground paste at this point along with the almond butter and cook it for a few more minutes.   At this point, if you find it a little spicy, you can tone it down by adding another tsp of ghee or almond butter.

Eat with rice & dhal / yoghurt or with rotis or just as is, as a little snack.  It is perfect, any which way!

If you do not have access to almond butter, just follow the original recipe and add a handful of cashews (or almonds) when you grind the ingredients.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2010 in Cooking, Desi

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Peppery Cauliflower

  1. Shankari

    October 22, 2010 at 8:21 AM

    I add pepper to my chai too 🙂 Have you tried adding chilli powder and elakkai powder to chai..that also tastes awesome 🙂 Also try eating apples with pepper and salt..yum!!! and I love the name Mrignayani, there used to be one serial in Doordarshan by that name too.

     
    • A-kay

      October 22, 2010 at 8:27 AM

      I have tried elakkai powder as the only time K drinks chai is if it is made with elkkai. But not chilli powder although I add that to my hot chocolate to give it a mexican twist 🙂 Apples are usually eaten with chaat masala, pepper & salt sounds like a nice combination too. Will give that shot.

      Mrignayani is the name of the Madhya Pradesh State emporium (similar to Karnataka’s Cauvery) and it was in this context I first heard this name and love(d) the richness of the name.

       
      • Shankari

        October 24, 2010 at 12:00 PM

        Oh yeah! I remember that emporiam, that is on Brigade right?

        @shy, yes Pallavi Joshi used to star in that serial..gosh, it has been so long since I caught any Indian shows!!

         
  2. shy

    October 24, 2010 at 11:51 AM

    @shankari: I used to love that serial Mriganayani. Pallavi Josi was the actress.

    akay, Picture looks yumm. I am lazy to do the paste(sticking with my one pot plan..i know height of laziness).. any alternate way?

    I should stop reading your blog..I went an bought a grill pan today..just because that post of yours..you are toppling my budget akay:)

     
    • A-kay

      October 24, 2010 at 11:56 AM

      Yes – I can think of an alternate way actually. You can try using pepper, cumin and chilli powder (you can powder them in mortar – pestle / pepper shaker) and chop all the onions (instead of cubing & grinding half of them) and follow the rest of the recipe? Am sure it will be equally delicious. Give it the lazy version a shot and let me know.

       
  3. UL

    November 7, 2010 at 8:38 AM

    I loved the doordarshan series of Mrignayani too – Pallavi Joshi was my favorite for a long long time – I used to say I would name my daughter Pallavi some day – not that I did 🙂 Anyway , cauliflower and black pepper are my favorites too and i might actually try the easy version you mention above, will keep you posted…

     

Leave a Reply

 
