RSS

Open or closed?

12 Oct

How do you like your sandwiches? Having never heard or come across an open sandwich, I was quite surprised when the sandwich that I ordered @ Prolific Oven lay in front of me. Grilled and colorful vegetables with the gooey freshly melted cheese made it look very appetizing and to add, it is also low in carb as you lose a slice of bread – now tell me, what is not to like about this sandwich? After this first experience, I usually make the traditional closed sandwich for K and make an open one for me.

The veggies are usually grilled in a grill pan which also doubles up as a panini or sandwich maker. This was a gift from a dear friend, thanks Mags!

How to grill veggies till they get those beautiful marks?

You will need:

Veggies: squash (summer squash, zucchini etc), egg plant, onion
Knife
Grill Pan
Patience

Cut the veggie into thick (1/4″) slices and coat (or brush) both sides with some EVOO. Spread them on the hot (place the grill pan on the stove in medium heat before you start cutting the veggie) grill pan, you should hear the hizzing sound on the pan, if not the pan is not hot enough. Leave it undisturbed for 5 minutes. As much as you are tempted to lift and peek, resist the temptation. Read a book or catch up on news – do anything to distract yourself from the pan 🙂 A technique that helps me is to set a timer, and walk away from the kitchen. After 5 minutes, flip it over and you will see those beautiful grill marks on the veggie. Repeat the same for the other side.

After grilling the veggies, all you need to do is assemble. You can either use foccacia rolls cut into two horizontally or any other bread slice. Toast the bread on the same grill pan for about 2 minutes on each side and then place the cheese (thick slice and preferably mozzarella) on top of the bread. Stack the veggies on top. If you are using tomato, place a fresh slice right on top of mozzarella. Let it cook for a couple more minutes, till the cheese is all gooey. And your dinner is ready!

I haven’t found an easy way to get those grill marks on the bread with an open sandwich. If you are making a closed one, you can try this neat tip that I picked from watching hours of Food Network (Rachel Ray to be specific) instead of investing in a panini press. Place a bread slice on top of the stack of veggies. Place a heavy pan with some weights to weigh the sandwich down. Flip the sandwich and repeat the process to get the marks on both side.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2010 in Italian

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Open or closed?

  1. UL

    October 12, 2010 at 11:38 AM

    Yum yum, I missed several nice recipes and am catching up…ok let me ask you this, how do you make all these delicious recipes and resist from gobbling them down…i cant believe your muffins stayed long enough to go with the strawberry preserves…oh my mouth is watering at the very thought, i can already picture the two with some whipped cream! loved the noodles recipe too – I usually cook hakka but never thought of adding edamame..keep them coming.

    To answer your question, the muffin and compote were made on the same day, just got posted separately – neat trick, heh? The trick that I have found to resist from gobbling down is I made calorie-intense recipe only when I have folks over so I can spread the joy (and calorie :-P) and no left-overs. – A-kay

     
  2. Pallavi

    October 12, 2010 at 6:34 PM

    Looks awesome!!! I bought a little grill recently, and it was a value-for-money one 😉 and I use it for sandwiches and veggies alike 🙂 Thanks for this picture.. makes me want to go buy some foccacia right away!!

    Focaccia’s are the best for sandwiches, isn’t it? – A-kay

     
  3. shy

    October 12, 2010 at 11:26 PM

    Geee…you are indeed pushing my budget akay! after this recipe, I so want to get a grill pan. I must:)

    that sanwich look awesome. keep same theme ‘simple, one pot/pan per dish’

    thanks dearie

    I think I should start a one-pan/pot dish series 🙂 The grill pan is awesome girl, will give it thumbs up – A-kay

     

Leave a Reply

 
