RSS

Strawberry compote / preserves

06 Oct

I never quite understood the difference between jam, jelly, preserves, compote etc. Oh! I forgot to add marmalade to this mix. Growing up, all I knew was Jam and just like how noodles was always Maggi, jam almost always meant Kissan Mixed Fruit Jam. The world of jelly, preserves, marmalade were explored only in our imagination thanks to Enid Blyton but our reality was starkly different from these books that we read.

Strawberries were always associated with Wimbledon. To us who grew in the tropical lands, fruits meant mangoes, jack-fruits, banana, guava etc. Berries were not part of our cuisine and just like how tropical climate and fruits seem exotic to folks who grew up in cold climates, berries, winter and snow looked and sounded exotic to me. Now, come spring and summer, the world of berries beckon me. Moving to America introduced me to all these fruits that I didn’t know existed and I have come to adore each and every one of them for their uniqueness – be it the color, the taste or the shape. These little gems are devoured with passion and what little is left behind is used mainly in baking.

Of all the berries, the pink strawberries are my favorite while K loves the blue berries – we conform to social norms 🙂 Every visit to the local farmer’s market or produce shop is not complete without picking these pink ‘uns. Sometimes (make it most times), in my greed for fruits, I buy more than I can consume. I used to fret over the strawberries that go waste, till I chanced upon a way to use up over-ripe strawberries, for that matter any fruit. If you cannot eat them, preserve them (pun intended!).

1 cup of roughly chopped strawberries
1/2 cup honey or maple syrup (you can use sugar instead)

In a sauce pan, bring this to a boil and let it simmer for a few minutes. The fruit wil start to soften and loose shape; continue to cook. After about 10-12 minutes, add a tsp of lemon juice and let it simmer for another 4-5 minutes.

You can eat this with bread or muffin or as a topping for dessert / ice-cream as well. This will stay in the refrigerator for about 2 weeks. If you want to make something in bulk quantity that stays fresh for a longer time, you need to cook this concoction till it reduces to a syrupy consistency and “can/jar” it. You can look at the detailed instruction listed here.

If you are still intrigued and want to find out the difference between jam, jelly, preserves, compote etc, hop over to Jam & Jelly Recipes.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 6, 2010 in Cooking

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Strawberry compote / preserves

  1. Pallavi

    October 7, 2010 at 3:35 PM

    That looks yummy!! But I’m far too lazy to even try 🙂 Btw, did I already thank you for your vote on Indiblogger? If not, then a Huge thanks 🙂 You have a very professional looking blog here, adding you to my reader, so I can be back for more 🙂

    Thanks Pallavi. As I said, you write very beautifully and loved most of your fiction. Will keep coming back to your blog too. – A-kay

     
  2. Saumya

    October 8, 2010 at 4:07 AM

    Wow….your one sentence on Enid Blyton took me racing through the annals of time reading about tarts and marmalade. How I loved those books 🙂 BTW, the fresh fruits here are just too inviting. I land up just cutting them and mixing them up with a tinge of sugar and yogurt and making a meal of them 🙂

    Tarts… oh yeah. I couldn’t even picture all these stuff growing up and now, they don’t even sound alien- such is life, I guess. I love fruits and yogurt separately but can never have it together. Btw, have you tried Frozen yogurts, am sure you love ’em. -A-kay

     
  3. shy

    October 8, 2010 at 2:15 PM

    I love blue berries more..don’t rasberries, strawberries okay. That may be because Enid Blyton never reached to the villages of kerala….interestingly I have been staying away from my weekly papaya fix for 2 months..oh, talking of which, I might get one tomorrow…hahha

    what is that 2 brown things beside the white dish, in the pic…describe to this old lady please( may be its my fading eye sight.(conveniently blaming eys:))

    this is easy and cool recipe..keep them coming’easy and cool one pot/pan recipes.

    good weekend girl
    note: can you do a simple thayir saadam recipe, pl?

    The 2 brown things are left overs from this batch. These pink ones perfectly compliment those brown ones 🙂 Of course, I can and will do / post simple thayir saadam recipe soon – A-kay

     
  4. Thanuja

    October 11, 2010 at 7:09 PM

    this looks really really yummy!tempted to try this.

    Try it away 🙂 – A-kay

     
  5. Shankari

    October 12, 2010 at 5:50 AM

    Looks awesome, sounds and looks delish! I also buy the little pinks in bulk and then fret over the wastage, thanks so much for the recipe. Will try to make some next time I buy the strawberries.

    This is a good way to use up the excess fruits. Try this with any fruit that you have. – A-kay

     

Leave a Reply

 
