RSS

Showcasing my latest acquisitions

22 Sep

This post is long over-due. Shankari of SacramentoSpice, one of my daily fixes, had organized a give away back in May when she completed 4 years of blogging. If you haven’t figured it out already, luck favored me and I was picked winner in this random selection. Yayyyyyy! Thank you, Shankari! CSN stores offered a gift voucher for the lucky winner (me πŸ™‚ ) which can be used in any of their, over 200, online stores.

CSN has a huge selection and I was pretty lost, as a lot of things caught my fancy. Finally, I settled for this amazing terracotta sauce pan which was super versatile. What I liked about this one was that I can use it on the stove top as well as oven. Quelle convenient! Especially, to bake pasta or biryani.

In addition to this, recently I also bought a cast iron sauce pan, a first for me. I do own couple of vanali (or kadai) of the cast iron variety – one, an heirloom, from my grandma and the other from my MIL) but not a sauce pan. Again, excited at the possibilities. The first dish I made using this was the date ice cream, as I wanted to make something sweet πŸ™‚ I also made Anita’s Punjabi Chole and it was awesome. On that note, if you want to make authentic chole, look no further than this recipe. I have made this several times and it has always hit the spot and been a crowd pleaser.

I have heard that cooking in terra cotta pot is healthier as it consumes less oil and retains moisture. So is it with cast iron pots. I am not surprised to read this; as if you go a few generations back, in most cultures, clay or cast iron pot cooking was prevalent and it is not without reason that our forefathers used these. What can I say except that we have come full-circle.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 22, 2010 in General

 

7 responses to “Showcasing my latest acquisitions

  1. Shankari

    September 22, 2010 at 2:57 PM

    Glad you bought this, I love the looks of it. And I remember I have one more thing to send to you, I have not forgotten

    Don’t worry. You should enjoy now with Ashwin and not think about all this πŸ™‚ A-kay

     
  2. Thanuja

    September 22, 2010 at 6:47 PM

    Great choice and am glad you chose this one against the non-stick ones. Next trip in Bharath and you can add to your collection.

    Absolutely. I have stopped using non-stick for a while now. I think I will eat your head on these kind of shopping trips when I am there. πŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  3. Laksh

    September 22, 2010 at 10:46 PM

    Neighbours envy, Owners pride!?

    Love the look of it and now am craving one. πŸ™‚ Perhaps I can gift myself one this birthday. πŸ™‚

    πŸ™‚ Didn’t know you like cast iron stuff too. Else I would have got one for you. Will keep an eye out. – A-kay

     
  4. Meena

    September 23, 2010 at 3:00 AM

    Nice!! I am going to get one of these for myself soon πŸ™‚ Love the cook and serve kind..Not that I don’t have enough in my pantry already!

    You should totally get it, atleast the cast iron pot. I loved the whole cooking experience in it. I haven’t used the Terracotta yet, so can’t comment that one, yet. But I want to do some kind of cook, bake and serve stuff in it. – A-kay

     
  5. Laksh

    September 23, 2010 at 4:09 AM

    Yo! I meant the terracotta one. Looks fabulous!

     
  6. Shankari

    September 23, 2010 at 9:15 AM

    The terracotta looks awesome, reminds me of the pickle jaadi’s at home πŸ™‚ Maybe one day.

     
  7. shy

    September 23, 2010 at 2:26 PM

    that looks lovely. And you won it, makes it lovelier!

    I am also thinking of getting rid of nonsticks..been reading lot of bad stuff about the coating. May be I should try Terracotta, i think especially to go with my 1 dish 1 pot /pan policy..you know how enhtu I am in kitchen..survival!

    oh yeah, the terracotta works beautifully for single pot dishes. – A-kay

     

Leave a Reply

 
