RSS

Pasta Prima who?

13 Sep

8, no! make it 7, years back after I had started working and driving in this new mad world where I had made my home, I wanted to take K for a nice surprise birthday dinner. Conferred with a friend of mine on the cuisine / place / what to wear and what not. That’s what girl friends are there for, aren’t they? Finally decided on an Italian choice, a safe choice if I think about it now, but sounded absolutely fascinating then, as I thought of pasta as an universal dish (still think) and there is a kind that everyone of us loves. Think of the variety – Spaghetti, Penne, Fusilli, Linguine – the list is almost endless.

As the weather is turning south and the air is getting a little nippy, I turn to my kitchen to remind me of summer. Pasta Primavera is one such dish and the fresher the ingredients are, the more refreshing it ends up being. This is such a colorful dish that can be served as one of the entree in your Italian themed dinner or just had as a simple one-pot meal.

Handful of these veggies, cut into 2″ pieces and boil, so that they are cooked but still retain a crunch:
Asparagus
Beans
Bell Pepper
Carrots

Whisk together the following ingredients to prepare the Vinagrette.
2 Tbsp – EVOO
1 Tbsp – White Wine Vinegar
1 tsp – Crushed Red Pepper
1 tsp – Salt
1 tsp – Black Pepper

Boil water and cook a cup of pasta (Penne, Bowtie or Fusilli works best) al-dente. Strain the pasta and mix in the boiled veggies and vinaigrette and give it a good toss. As simple as that!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 13, 2010 in Cooking, Italian

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Pasta Prima who?

  1. shy

    September 13, 2010 at 2:30 PM

    as such i was eating midlessly today..why punish me with that pic and recipe:)
    very tempting indeed. will make a good lunch for kido to school.

    appreciate your patience in not only writing recipes but taking pics and all.

    keep them coming

    You got it right girl, I have to punish you that is why 🙂 Oh yes, it makes a great lunch dish as it tastes just as good hot or cold. Try adding some cream or cheese for the protein component. – A-kay

     
  2. UL

    September 13, 2010 at 11:40 PM

    …oh yes, what else are girl friends for? 🙂

    Finally there is a dish that I do make :), I always wondered if I would ever find the simplest of recipes that I do make in food blogs – now there’s one…this is a favorite in our house hold, slight difference but pretty much similar, my daughter loves this…, thanks for posting this, great start, wonderful revival post. 🙂

     
  3. Laksh

    September 18, 2010 at 11:06 AM

    Looks lovely! Never thought of asparagus in pasta but sounds good. Very timely too as these days I am forever wondering what to make that does not take time, has enough veggies to satisfy K etc. 🙂

    Try it and let me know how it turns out. – A-kay

     

Leave a Reply

 
