RSS

Goan Pulao

07 Mar

Goa – I am not sure about you, but the mere name conjures up images of blue sea, clear sky, pristine beaches and everything exotic. When I heard about Goan Pulao from a dear friend of mine, needless to say, I was thinking of everything exotic – exotic spices, flavors, what not. Exotic, rich flavors in this dish makes it stand true to its name but surprisingly these flavors come together to make a very simple, satisfying dish.

1 tsp Kalonji (nigella) seeds
1 onion thinly sliced
2 cups chopped beans
1 cup peas
2 tsp whole pepper
1 cup coconut milk
Few strands of saffron
2 barks of cinnamon
4-5 bay leaves
1-2 slit green chillies
2 cups basmati rice
1 tsp ghee, for frying

In a thick-bottomed vessel (or a pressure cooker), saute cinnamon, bay leaf, kalonji, onion, beans, peas, green chillies in ghee.

Add rice to this mixture and continue sauteing for about 3-4 minutes.

Pressure cook this mixture with pepper, coconut milk, saffron and 3.5 cups of water.

This is a very quick dish that can be put together really fast and can hold its own along with a simple dal or a really rich restaurant-style Paneer-y buttery masalas. I like it best with Tomato bharta or raitha.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2010 in Cooking, Desi

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Goan Pulao

  1. Happy Cook

    March 7, 2010 at 10:48 PM

    Looks so so yumm, i love rice like this, yeah right now i would love to b ein goa too for the sunny weahter.

     
  2. Meena

    March 8, 2010 at 3:18 AM

    Hey, Love the new layout and the bright flowers. Right on time to welcome spring.
    I am bookmarking this recipe for a weekday night!

    Well,I got tired of the old theme and the weekend was put to some good use šŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  3. shankari

    March 9, 2010 at 5:38 AM

    Akay- how are you? I am ashamed to say I forgot your blog name and kept searching..happy to have found you again

    Don’t be – I disappeared from the blog world for a while too. Hope to be more regular. Though I don’t comment as often, I do follow your blog regularly and love your new space. A-kay

     
  4. Suman

    March 9, 2010 at 11:24 PM

    Great come back Akay. My loyalty is still for your old header though. I love your new tag line. Please keep the recipes coming. Thanks for your comments on mine.

    Thanks for stopping by Suman – truth be told, I liked the old one better too šŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  5. Madhuram

    March 10, 2010 at 12:48 AM

    Hi AKay, how have you been? I too am with Shankari. Actually it has been a while since I visited any blog. Will send you an email shortly.

    My mil used to make a pulav with coconut milk and I love it, but I have not made it. Have to try this one.

    Thanks Madhu – I visit your blog regularly but hardly ever leave comments. Thanks for stopping by though. Will wait for your mail. – A-kay

     
  6. Dinesh

    March 11, 2010 at 4:21 PM

    I love the new look of your website. and Goan Pulao, that is something to be tried. Sounds tasty. Does it taste good with Fenny šŸ™‚

    Although I did not tried it, I am sure it does šŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  7. UL

    March 12, 2010 at 2:39 AM

    Wow new look…more exotic than the dish, hey :)…nice to see you back Akay…the one i would make in the new ones -the tomato dish šŸ™‚ – coz I already make something similar, still sticking with the easy ones you see…that breakfast shake sound yum, but too much work for me, so wont make it šŸ™‚

    It is nice to be back too šŸ™‚ Regarding the tomato dish, it is so you to be so and I should say, I am not not surprised. But take my word for it and try the pulao, you will not regret. – A-lay

     

Leave a Reply

 
