RSS

The smoothie that ate my banana

24 Feb

I eat my breakfast either on my way to work or at work, and this breakfast lasts me a good 3 hours before I gobble down my lunch.  For a while, my breakfast used to be a tall glass of milk (Horlicks to be precise) along with a big bad banana.  Like many other things in my life, I hate routine in my breakfast as well and soon enough, I got tired of the lack of variety.  That is when I chanced upon this smoothie (though, I prefer to call it milk shake) and absolutely love it – well, for now, atleast.  This is a Date-nut-apple milk shake and so far, it has been bye-bye banana.

Making this smoothie is very simple, all you need is a wee bit of discipline.  Discipline, as you need to soak dates, apple and almond overnight in milk, alternatively, I guess you can soak them in bulk and store in refrigerator, take it out as and when needed and blend it, I use my trusted Sumeet mixie for this.

Dates Almonds Apples

My concoction goes as follows:

  • Soak3-4 pitted dates in 2 -3 tablespoons of milk.
  • Add chopped apples to the date-milk mixture.  Make sure to clean apple well and remove the skin, if you are not using organic apples.
  • Soak 10-12 almonds in warm water for about 15 mins, peel skin and add it to the date-apple-milk mixture.
  • Let it sit overnight and blend it well, without adding additional milk in your blender.
  • Add more milk to make it into a milk shake consistency and blend it again.
  • Pour it into a travel mug and you have a healthy, nourishing, ful-filling breakfast on the go.

Do give it a shot and let me know what you think.  Get creative, add figs or other dried fruits or pistachios to the mix to jazz it up.   Oh, and while you are at it, please do share your breakfast routine.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2010 in Cooking

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “The smoothie that ate my banana

  1. Apar

    February 25, 2010 at 12:52 AM

    Sounds yummy!! and nutritious! 🙂 And yeah….needs discipline; will probably do this now and then not as a routine knowing I could be lazy 😉


    I hear ya – but it is super delicious. Try it especially with Fig and a bit of cashews, both Aakash and you will love it. – A-kay

     
  2. Meena

    February 25, 2010 at 9:15 AM

    Excellent breakfast to beat the morning rush!
    Will try this with soya milk. Awesome pictures btw.

    Thanks girl! Didn’t know about Calcium in milk being a inhibitor in iron absorption – will update the post with this info. The pictures are courtesy wikipedia commons, missed attributing the source last night in the hurry to post the blog. – A-kay

     
  3. Charanya

    February 25, 2010 at 10:45 AM

    Here is mine… for the past few months… eating breakfast has never been in my list of things to do until of course I got pregnant. Now that I “HAVE” to eat healthy here is what I eat.. 2 whole wheat slices toasted to crunch with a dab of peanut butter and half a sliced banana in-between. This with a glass of milk keeps me going for atleast 3 hrs… I love my peanut butter banana sandwich.

    I love peanut butter, peanut in any form actually. Never tried banana in a sandwich – sounds interesting… – A-kay

     
  4. shy

    March 9, 2010 at 2:51 PM

    sounds yummy and rich..just like the way b/f should be. wish my kids try it; it is hard to get them try something difft..umm

    if it is Banana for you, I am papaya girl. hubby reliously bring 1 papaya with weekly grocery and that ames 4 workiing day b/f. me too, take it to work and eat there.

    That is indeed a pretty good idea – I think I should try other fruits for breakfast for some variety. – A-kay

     
  5. Suman

    March 9, 2010 at 11:37 PM

    Yum… have been wanting to try it since I read.

    For me, it’s good old oat meal for b/f.

     

Leave a Reply

 
