RSS

Payatham urundai

15 Nov

Payatham Urundai

Buoyed with the success of Mysore pak, M and I started thinking of the next sweet that can be made. We were totally unprepared, so it had to be something that we could make with the ingredients we had in hand (can’t go shopping at 11:00 in the night 🙂 ). After brainstorming a few potential candidates, we zeroed in on payatham Urundai (aka Moong Dhal Balls) – all it requires is payatham paruppu (split moong dhal), ghee and sugar – ingredients that are available in every desi household.

At 11 in the night, M & I started roasting payatham paruppu, as we were chatting or rather reminiscing our (childhood) memories on Deepavali. How our moms had their trademark snacks that they prepared without fail for every Deepavali (for my mom, no doubts here, it was Mysore Pak and for hers it was Chocolate cake, which I am hoping to make soon) and ended up creating their own tradition that we try to follow, tweak to make ours. It was an interesting evening with a lot of girly chatter and catching up that ended in a promise, or rather hope, that we try and do this for every Deepavali.


Dry-roasted and powdered payatham paruppu – 1 cup

Powdered Sugar with Cardamom – 1 cup

Ghee – 1/4 cup

Mix the paruppu powder with sugar well in a wide-mouthed bowl.

Melt ghee over low-heat so that it remains liquid and does not solidify, and is also not too hot to handle.

Add a tablespoon or so of ghee to the mixture, and start rolling urundai (balls) with the mixture and ghee. Add more ghee, as and when required. This way you can control the amount of ghee used (we had about a tablespoon or so left behind). The other way is to mix the ghee completely with the powder and then roll the urundai.

You can roasted nuts (cashews and almonds) to the flour mixture before you make the urundai.

Payatham Urundai

This is my second entry to the November edition of JFI – Festival treats hosted by Srivalli.  Also, hop over here to look at Spillay’s version of, what she calls, Neyyi Urundai.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2008 in Cooking, Desi, Traditional cooking

 

Tags: , , ,

19 responses to “Payatham urundai

  1. Laksh

    November 1, 2008 at 5:35 AM

    I am jealous. Really!

    The urundai has come out so well. I miss having girlfriends out here. People who can come over and make payatham urundai at my home. 🙂

    How about you going to someone’s house and making it? 😛 But I understand what you are saying and I agree, it is indeed nice to cook with girlfriends. Wish you lived near by… – A-kay

     
  2. SPillay

    November 1, 2008 at 6:34 AM

    Hi A-Kay. I’m drooling all over again! Ha! Ha! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Thanks for linking, Spillay. I loved your version too. -A-kay

     
  3. Dinesh

    November 1, 2008 at 7:49 AM

    Looks a bit like Rava laddu. Got to try for the next party, I mean got to get my wife to try it for the next party. If I try to make, it will be used as Golf balls.

    I think rava laddu (or laadu), maalaadu and this one all fall in the same category – have their recipes follow a common template. Golf balls! No… with amount of sugar and ghee that goes into the making of these, they will delicious however you make it 😛 – A-kay

     
  4. Maggie

    November 1, 2008 at 12:06 PM

    It sure was a great experience – but you know what the ultimate realization of the whole episode was – i was shunning (rather kept my distance )from making sweets that required “making urundai” and constant stirring (‘kalaring’) because of my Carpal Tunnel. But we ended up making just those that night ! it sure was lot of fun-catching up-jus chit chatting with the aroma of ghee in the house! We sure made a great decision. I think the roasting of the dal was perfect, the powder sugar was perfect and for the mysore pak consistency was perfect – like it all JUST HAD TO BE 🙂

    PS : now i don’t envy K at all for the photo-job he has to do 😉

    -m

    I hear you, totally! – A-kay

     
  5. Happy Cook

    November 1, 2008 at 7:44 PM

    Thes look so yumm wanted to pop one to my mouth, but alas i can just drool here.
    Well i am with your mom, i love mysorepak, one of my favourite indian sweet

    Me too – I love it best when it is just made and still warm. – A-kay

     
  6. Apar

    November 2, 2008 at 12:03 AM

    Looks yummy!! 🙂 Like Laksh, wish I had some to call home or go and cook something together 🙂

    Like I told Laksh, wish we lived close by – A-kay

     
  7. mahimaa

    November 2, 2008 at 9:54 AM

    Hi, thanks for the comments in my blog. This is my first visit to your blog as well.. gosh! those laddoos are so tempting.. love the picture.. nicely taken. i am adding u to my blogroll..

    Thanks Mahimaa. Will blogroll you too. I haven’t updated in my blogroll in a long time, your comment might act as a catalyst 🙂 – A-kay

     
  8. sachita

    November 2, 2008 at 12:50 PM

    For almost a month and a half you didn’t update the blog and suddently within a short span I see there are a bunch of posts:) Loved those Ganga, yamnuna, saraswathi photos.

    Lovely urundais.
    Though I haven;t tried any sweets other than kesari till date, I have been toying with the idea for sometime now. Your blog will definitely be an inspiration:)

    As I had written in one of my posts, my life goes about in phases, and my blog reflects that. Let me know how your sweet adventure turns out to be – would love to know 🙂 – A-kay

     
  9. indosungod

    November 2, 2008 at 8:47 PM

    The urundais look so good. They are a favorite and gets mades pretty easily, no worries about sugar consistency and what not the other sweets demand 🙂 I make them with the green moong so mine takes on a slightly green tinge.

    These urundais are no hassle comparatively. Whole moong is probably a little more nutritious than the yellow one, if you can call any sweet nutritious that is 🙂 – A-kay

     
  10. Dinesh

    November 3, 2008 at 2:50 AM

    with amount of sugar and ghee that goes into the making of these, they will delicious however you make it
    That may be true. But Murphy’s law is specifically made for folks like me. If some thing can be done wrong, then I will most certainly do it wrong 🙂

    LOL 🙂 I can see that you are pulling every reason out of the book to get out of making them urundais 😛 – A-kay

     
  11. Srivalli

    November 3, 2008 at 11:27 AM

    Looks great!..nice perfect balls!..thanks for the entry!

     
  12. Rupa

    November 3, 2008 at 12:03 PM

    Oh so lovely, such perfect rounds of invites…in Andhra we make the same kind but with urad dal…your picture makes me crave for these….will sure try soon.

    Sure – let me know how it turns out. – A-kay

     
  13. Sangeetha

    November 5, 2008 at 12:23 AM

    A-Kay,
    Your pictures are as awesome as your recipes – They sure are enticing and make you want to try the recipe. But honestly, I don’t think I can keep up with you ;-). Can you try the same with pottu kadalai?
    Very flavorful writing.

    Sure – I like the maalaadu made with pottu kadalai too; will try to post that as well. – A-kay

     
  14. Lakshmi

    November 5, 2008 at 12:41 AM

    Gosh, those defy the rule that stuff that tastes good are not nutritious. But like Dinesh, Murphy rules my kitchen, I am likely to mess it up.
    Any plans of coming Chennai side in the near future? I have payatham paruppu, sugar AND home-made ghee sitting in the pantry, waiting for your magic touch.

    I think you coming to California is a better alternative, given that I was in Chennai just a few months back 🙂 – A-kay

     
  15. Mitr

    November 5, 2008 at 2:23 AM

    A-kay-

    Looks like a great outcome of two girl friends getting together to make this mouth watering sweet. You have not only earned the title of Queen of South Indian Sweets, but are also working hard to keep it. Great work!

    Thanks Mitr. – A-kay

     
  16. Maggie

    November 5, 2008 at 4:42 AM

    hey – i have an extra pound of pottu kadalai 😉 – do u want to swing by this fri ?

     
  17. purplesque

    November 9, 2008 at 12:45 PM

    These are sinful. I will swap you a whole monthful of cooking for these. Do they taste anything like moong dal halwa?

    Kind of, but I thought it tasted more like maaladu with a distinct moong flavor. I will let you pick the time and place for the swap 😉 – A-kay

     
  18. Madhuram

    November 10, 2008 at 9:45 PM

    Hi Akay, how have you been? I also usually make the pottukadalai maavu urundai, because I was not sure if my mixie would make a fine powder of the payathamparuppu. So recently I bought store bought moong daal flour, but did not try the urundais yet. Maybe I should dry roast the powder first. Did you use the regular Indian mixie?

    Doing pretty good – thanks for asking 🙂 Yes I used the regular Indian Mixie – roasted the moong dhal before powdering it. It was not as fine as the grain-mill one but a little coarse, good enough for the urundais. – A-kay

     
 
