RSS

Mysore Pak

28 Oct

Two of my fondest memories of Deepavali are the smell of fresh, hot-off-the-stove mysore pak within the house and the fumes from firecrackers outside. My mom would spend the day before Deepavali in making various kinds of sweets and savories that culminated in dinner(the high point) – poori-masal – poori with potato masala, one of the most popular dishes in South India. She always started with Mysore Pak – a simple sweet, containing just 3 ingredients yet complicated in its own way and hence, difficult to master. It also happens to be one of my favorite sweets (well, I am a self-confessed sweet-o-phile πŸ™‚ ), so I try to follow my mom’s tradition and make mysore pak first and stop right there, as well – he he!

This year, M (who comments here regularly) and I decided to get together to make the Deepavali bhakshanam(snacks). M’s mom (who again is a regular reader / commentator of this blog) had already made yummy omapodi (thin sev flavored with ajwain) and “Deepavali marunthu”, literally means “Deepavali medicine”, which is quite unique to Deepavali. Made of medicinal elements like pepper and ginger, a small bit of this marunthu goes a long way in healing indigestion after gorging during the festival.

Impressed and high on confidence by the success of our Mysore Pak adventure, we decided to prepare another sweet as well – Payatham urundai (Moong dhal balls – also known as Neyyi urundai as per Spillay), the recipe of which will appear soon in this space. Now, it is Mysore Pak time!

Besan – 1 cup

Sugar – 2 cups

Ghee – 1 cup

Roast besan with 1/4 cup of ghee till the besan is devoid of its raw smell.

In a thick-bottomed vessel, add sugar and just enough water to immerse it to prepare sugar-syrup to one-string consistency.

Add the besan and remaining ghee alternatively to the sugar syrup, mixing well so that no lumps are formed.

Cook till the mixture becomes frothy and starts leaving the edges. Pour this to a greased plate and cut it into diamond-shaped pieces.

The trick to a good Mysore Pak is to know the right stage to stop cooking the mixture; if under-cooked, it will not solidify and if over-cooked, it will get as hard as a rock. Personally, for me it has been a lesson learnt through trial and error – there is no science to it πŸ™‚

This is my first entry to the November edition of JFI – Festival treats hosted by Srivalli.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 28, 2008 in Cooking, Desi, Traditional cooking

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “Mysore Pak

  1. Laksh

    October 28, 2008 at 4:02 AM

    Looks yummy!!! Love the picture of the plate with the cuts made into the mysore pak.

    Thanks! I took that picture while M took the other one, which is my favorite; strangely the idea of the plate picture was hers and the other one was mine – so truly a joint effot πŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  2. Maggie

    October 28, 2008 at 4:08 AM

    It was an awesome experience actually doing the sweets together – like you rightly said, a lot of nostalgia – I remember my mother finsihing up all the household chores of the day and doing the “bakshanam” (her trademark ribbon and chocolate cake and rava laddu) late at night (mostly after we went to sleep when we were younger kids) – Like you said we should try and make this a tradition.

    And i think the pics came out awesome – thanks to your persistence (er.. bickering πŸ˜‰

    -M

    Well, what can I say – I settle only for the best πŸ™‚ True – it was one fun experience. – A-kay

     
  3. Dinesh

    October 28, 2008 at 5:00 AM

    I love Special Mysore Pak. They are delicious. I think Adyar Anandha Bhavan is the shop I used to get it from and in Madurai there is a store called Amirtham. Regular Mysore Pak from store is usually hard. I don’t like it, I just use it as a weapon πŸ˜€

    Although Sri Krishna Sweets is famous for their Mysore Pak, personally, I think it has way too much ghee. I prefer Mysore Pak made at home to store-bought ones normally. I haven’t tried the special Mysore Pak at Adyar Anandha Bhavan – should try it next time. Where is this Amirtham in MDU? Please note my knowledge of MDU is very limited πŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  4. Radhika

    October 28, 2008 at 5:56 AM

    This is one of my favourite sweets but never tried it.Nice pictures Thanks for sharing.

     
  5. SPillay

    October 28, 2008 at 7:25 AM

    Thanks for sharing this receipe! I must try it one day. We usually buy this sweet and not make it ourselves….. Also, looking forward to your version of payatham urundai πŸ™‚ .

    PS: Love the photos too πŸ™‚

     
  6. indosungod

    October 28, 2008 at 8:20 AM

    Looks lovely. I am not fond of the Krishna Sweets Mysore Pak either, all that ghee does not sit well. Yours looks perfect.

     
  7. naan

    October 28, 2008 at 12:17 PM

    Akay

    Come here from Mitr’s blog. The Mysore pak looks awesome. It looks so yummy that I want to drop by your place and have some πŸ˜‰

    Making mysore pak is an art, I am sure. There are so many who have been so unsuccessful. I used to love my MIL’s mysore pak. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Naan for delurking by. Completely agree that making mysore pak is an art – I love my mom’s mysore pak. I have tried it before a few times, some successful (sort of) and some not so successful – this time, I guess I got lucky πŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  8. Lakshmi

    October 29, 2008 at 12:03 AM

    Plate-la mysore pak looks so yummy Akki. Parcel some pls πŸ™‚

    Laks

     
  9. Apar

    October 29, 2008 at 1:21 AM

    This was one of the first sweets I ever tried to make. And yours looks yummy!! I want some!!!
    I have my recipe posted here The picture looks pathetic…should make some more and take better picks with fatter mysore paks πŸ˜€
    To me the whitish bubbles I mention seemes to be the right time to take it off πŸ™‚ but yeah, it is experience through trial and error as you say πŸ˜‰

    I totally agree with on the whitish bubbles – that is how my mom taught me too. Somehow for me, finding the whitish bubble used to be elusive πŸ˜› but getting better now. Your diet mysore pak looks perfect πŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  10. Mitr

    October 29, 2008 at 3:21 AM

    A-kay,

    I hereby crown you the official “South Indian Sweet Maker”, having tasted your maida cake at golu time, am sure, this would have just melted in the mouth. Lovely pictures.

    Thank you, Mitr and I am grinning here as I read your comment πŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  11. Dinesh

    October 30, 2008 at 6:46 AM

    If you ask where is Amirtham to even a small child in Madurai, the child will be able to tell you. Provided the child is alteast 25 years old. It is by the intersection of Munichalai road and Kamarajar Salai.

    Next time I visit Madurai, I will check this out. Thanks! – A-kay

     
  12. Srivalli

    November 3, 2008 at 11:26 AM

    Looks great!..thanks for the entry!

     
  13. TheCooker

    November 5, 2008 at 3:29 AM

    Looks delicious, AKay!

     
  14. Madhuram

    November 10, 2008 at 9:49 PM

    I have never ventured trying to make Mysore Paks, just like not baking breads/or anything that requires yeast. I totally agree with you on Krishna Sweets, it has way too much ghee. But I also read somewhere that using a combination of payatham mavu and kadala mavu will give very soft pieces just like Krishna Sweets.

     

Leave a Reply

 
