RSS

Maida Burfi

20 Oct

All those who read the comment entries on Golu would know that I made a maida (all-purpose flour) sweet for Navaratri. I am calling it “a maida sweet” cos I am not sure what I should call it 🙂 I started out making maida cake, and what I ended up with was not firm like a cake or runny like a halwa. Left with a sweet that tasted awesome (if I may say so) but was shapeless, I decide to roll them into balls and press them down like a peda.

Maida/All purpose flour – 1 cup
Sugar – 1.5 cup
Ghee – .5 cup
Vanilla Extract (or essence) – 1 tsp
Saffron – a few strands (mixed in warm milk)

Dry roast the flour till it gets a nutty flavor.

Add enough water to cover the sugar (about 1/4 cup) and make sugar syrup of one-string consistency. Mix in the flour stirring well, so that no lumps are formed. Add the ghee, vanilla essence and saffron-milk and cook till it separates out from the vessel with bubbles at the edges. This will take about 5-6 minutes in medium flame.

Pour into a ghee-greased plate and cut it into squares once it sets. You know what to do, if it doesn’t set 🙂

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 20, 2008 in Cooking, Desi

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Maida Burfi

  1. Apar

    October 20, 2008 at 2:09 PM

    Your version of the sweet looks yummy …think I will try this and hope it does not set into the squares 😉

    Well if you need any tip, goof up the sugar syrup – I think that is the reason it did not set well. Although I thought it has reached the one-string consistency, may be it did not and I think I didn’t check it correctly. Good luck with messing up 🙂 – A-kay

     
  2. Dinesh

    October 20, 2008 at 9:27 PM

    Hey, I came here from Apar’s blog. This blog is very nice and I like the name – Lemon and chillies and also Madras2Madurai. Will keep visiting your blog, Burfi seems delicious.’

    Thanks Dinesh – I have been to your blog several times through Apar’s and Usha’s – been a silent delurker always. Glad you liked the blog 🙂 – Akay

     
  3. Madhuram

    October 20, 2008 at 9:30 PM

    My grandmother used to make Maida Cake quite so often, but I don’t have a clue about the recipe. But your version definitely looks good.

    My mom too – and she used to add colors and make it in the Indian tri-color and call it the Flag cake 🙂 – A-kay

     
  4. Apar

    October 20, 2008 at 10:33 PM

    As I told you…I have tagged you! >:)

     
  5. Happy Cook

    October 20, 2008 at 11:11 PM

    Well atleast the end creation was delicious.
    Which is always gives a good feeling

    True – felt good to salvage the sweet for sure.

     
  6. Sangeetha

    October 21, 2008 at 2:57 AM

    Hey,
    That looks like badusha. I’m always left with a big bag of maida that is in the pantry and sits there for years till I throw it out and get a fresh one so this recipe surely helps. I’ll try it.

    Let me know how it turns out. – A-kay

     
  7. Laksh

    October 22, 2008 at 2:39 AM

    Definitely looks like badusha minus sugar coating (which I love!). Passed it on to amma and my sis. Looking fwd to your diwali related posts.

    Diwali – yeah 🙂 Hopefully soon – A-kay

     

Leave a Reply

 
