RSS

Chocolate Cherry Nut Cake

09 Sep

My dear friend Laksh and her husband K were visiting us last weekend and folks who read her blog would know that it was K’s bday last week. As it is more than 5 years since I met them in person, I decided to do something special when they were here, which coincided well with his b’day. I have been wanting to bake this cake from Indira, ever since I laid my eyes on it. What can be a better time to bake this cake than this?


I followed Indira’s recipe with a few minor modifications:

Sift together
3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup walnut meal
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder

Melt in Microwave
8 oz unsweetened baking chocolate (Ghirardelli)
1/4 cup butter

Mix the flour, chocolate mixture with
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
1/4 cup hazelnuts, finely chopped
1/4 cup blueberries, finely chopped
1 cup cherries, pitted and chopped (can be fresh or frozen, depending on the season)

If the mixture is very thick, add some milk to bring it to a pourable, cake-batter consistency. Meanwhile, preheat oven to to 350 F. Pour the batter into a round cake pan (or bread loaf pan) and bake for about 45 minutes or till it passes the tooth-pick test. I also added some almonds on top of the batter in the pan as decoration.

Sing Happy B’day to K with me now πŸ™‚Β  This is my entry to Your Recipe Rocks for this month.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2008 in Cooking, Italian

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Chocolate Cherry Nut Cake

  1. Laksh

    September 10, 2008 at 4:21 AM

    That was some amazing cake and I can vouch for it πŸ™‚

     
  2. Mitr

    September 10, 2008 at 6:05 AM

    A-kay,

    Looks like you all had a great time getting together, the cake looks smashing, will try it sometime.

    Yes – we did have a lot of fun. – A-kay

     
  3. Just Someone

    September 10, 2008 at 11:56 AM

    Yummy! that cake looks awesome! Looks like I chased after Laksh here…

    Have a great time, all!:):)

    …all your pics and recipes looks so cool!

    Thank you… Thank you… Glad you stopped by. – A-kay

     
  4. SPillay

    September 10, 2008 at 3:13 PM

    Hi A-Kay. So nice to see you on screen again…. The cake looks divine!!! I’m sure it must have tasted awesome as well :Yes: . Take care all!!

    Thanks for stopping by – hoping to be more regular πŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  5. Mads

    September 11, 2008 at 1:58 AM

    A-kay the cake looks yummy, I am going to give it a shot for AD’s b’day. You guys sure must be having fun.

    It was a lot of fun having them around. If you have the time & zeal, do some chocolate icing for this cake – that will kick it up a notch πŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  6. Madhuram

    September 12, 2008 at 3:38 AM

    Yummy cake. Even I bookmarked it. I think Indira had used ghee instead of butter.

    Yup that is right! I made a few minor modifications that will work for me πŸ™‚ Would love to see your take too Madhu. – A-kay

     
  7. Apar

    September 12, 2008 at 11:12 PM

    Yummy!! I wish I had some!! A-kay you have been tagged here

     
  8. Madhuram

    October 2, 2008 at 4:48 AM

    Ennama kannu sowkyama?

    Aamam ma kannu! Sowkiyam thaan:) -A-kay

     
  9. UL

    October 2, 2008 at 9:45 AM

    mmm yum…my mouth is watering…caught the pics and looks like you all had fun.

     
  10. Sangeetha

    October 14, 2008 at 11:49 PM

    That looks like one yummy cake! Maybe I should try it during the holidays.

     

Leave a Reply

 
