RSS

Mor kootu

17 Aug

I am a big fan of curd (Indian yogurt) – every desi meal is squared off with a liberal dose of curd at the end, be it idli or pongal or roti. If I refuse to eat a dish, add some curd to it, and chances are I will finish it without any complaint. What are the odds that this curd-eater (or over-eater) would find a guy who doesn’t touch curd with a 10 foott pole? Well, that is what happened; I married someone who doesn’t eat curd, smell curd and prefers to not even see curd 🙂 So my favorite dishes like mor kozhambu and avial are rarely made, as I am too lazy to make two dishes for the two of us. When I have people over for lunch or dinner, however, the rules of the game are different. I don’t think too much about making a dish or two that my husband would skip.

Dakshin by Chandra Padmanabhan has some authentic Tam-Bram recipes and when I looked at her Mor kootu, I knew this was something that could not go wrong. All the goodness of kootu with the tangy taste of curd, this is sure to be a hit in any crowd.

Mor Kootu

1 chayote squash – peeled and cubed (or any other squash)
1/2 cup coconut – grated
1 cup fresh curd
1 green chillies
Turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp

Saute in 2 tsp oil and grind
red chillies – 2
coriander seeds – 2 tsp
Kadalai paruppu (Bengal gram) – 1 tsp
Vendhayam (Fenugreek seeds) – 1/2 tsp
along with the coconut and green chillies. Mix well with curd.

Temper (Thalippu) in ghee, 1 tsp mustard seeds and add the cubed squash , turmeric powder, salt and enough water to cover the veggies; cook on low heat till the squash is fork-tender.

Add the paste and heat for a couple of minutes. Be careful to prevent curdling.

Mor kootu can be eaten with rice as a main-dish or as a side to Bisi bele bath or any other mixed rice.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 17, 2008 in Cooking, Desi, Traditional cooking

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Mor kootu

  1. sushma

    August 17, 2008 at 7:52 PM

    Even im also a big fan of curd cant skip. we make maggije huli which is my fav

     
  2. Laksh

    August 17, 2008 at 8:50 PM

    Thanks for the recipe. This is a keeper. A nice variant of the aviyal.

    Something between mor kozhambu and aviyal is how I thought it was. But yes, a nice alternative to either, with parupu usili etc. – A-kay

     
  3. Bhawana

    August 17, 2008 at 10:04 PM

    hey this is very new to me. great one.

     
  4. Me

    August 18, 2008 at 1:17 AM

    A meal is never complete without yogurt. Even when I travel I make sure I have atleast a yoplait once a day.

    I love Vazhai thandu mor kootu. Have you tried that?

    Is Vazhai thandu available at your place? We get Vazhaipoo but never Vazhai thandu. Don’t know why.

    I so agree with you. But somehow, I prefer the Indian home-made yogurt to the store-bought one. I like Vazhai thandu mor kootu too, but I don’t see Vazhai thandu here as well. As you said, we get Vazhaipoo once a while but not the thandu. Should check with my grocer next time. – A-kay

     
  5. sangeeth

    August 18, 2008 at 1:46 AM

    My first time here…luved the recipe..i luv yogurt too…

     
  6. Maggie

    August 18, 2008 at 5:23 AM

    Keerai mor kootu (best with “molai keerai”) is an all time favorite!

     
  7. Mitr

    August 18, 2008 at 7:41 AM

    A-kay,

    Good one-I often do this, but there are only occasional times when the curd doesn’t get curdled and I get a nice texture to the kootu, am going to try your verbatim this evening (was planning to do mor kootu anyways) and see the outcome.

    Mitr, My mom’s tip for mor kozhambu, which worked for mor kootu as well, was to turn off the gas right when the kootu starts to foaming around the edges. This has been a sure-shot tip for no curdling. Try it out and let me know how it turned out. – A-kay

     
  8. TheTasteTinkerer

    August 27, 2008 at 2:09 PM

    Love Dakshin, A-Kay…its a fabulous book of recipes and all of them come out perfect! My fav combination with Mor Kozhambu is keerai- tempered and sauted until cooked!!

    Yeah – I really like the book too. I have tried a lot of recipes from this book and most of them are keepers. Mor kootu with sauteed keerai – should try that. – A-kay

     

Leave a Reply

 
