RSS

Shhh… its a secret, nay 10 secrets

22 Jun

Lekhni tagged me (why me, I say) to reveal 10 secrets about me. Well, if they are secrets, aren’t they supposed to remain, err, secret??? No says Lekhni and dares me to come clean.

a) I can be obssessive-compulsive at times (similar to Monk) – as in if I touch my forehead with right hand, would do it with my left hand too, so on and so forth. Thank God, not always!

b) I tend to be extremely superstitious, especially during exam time – I remember my lucky pen was a green Hero pen (anyone remembers those?) and wrote all my X and XII grade exams using that pen, except for Chemisty. Incidentally, I scored maximum in Chemistry – so much for luck and superstition 🙂

c) This one is not really a secret, atleast not anymore – I have never tasted coffee in my life. Yes, yes, it is weird especially since I am from Madras, synonymous for filter kaapi and The Hindu. But no sir, not me.

d) Left to myself, I would sleep all day. I had (rather, still do) this poster, gifted by a few friends, that proudly claims “Sleeping is my favorite sport” and it is so true.

e) One trip that I definitely want to do in my lifetime is Kailash – Lake Manasarovar yatra.

Five down – Five to go…

f) I would rather travel to see nature than cities. I realized this when I went to Utah and Nevada and liked canyons better than the strip 🙂

g) I love to engage in a discussion and argue (sometimes just for the sake of arguing :-P) – some of my best friends are folks with whom I first argued. Guess that is my weird way to bond!

h) My dream job as a kid was to become an IAS officer. I worked @ the Customs Department in Madras for a few months and figured that I am not cut out to work for the Government – bureaucracy is not my cup of tea.

i) I buy only books that I think I will read a second time, otherwise I don’t consider them worth-buying; so I usually don’t buy fictions.

j) Although I am a foodie @ heart and experiment with my cooking and palette, my favorite / soul food is thayir saadam – mor milagai (curd rice – dry-roasted chillies).

Finally! There you go – ten down. Now I dare Mitr, The Taste Tinkerer, Spillay, Priya and Nandita to reveal their secrets.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

16 responses to “Shhh… its a secret, nay 10 secrets

  1. Raaga

    June 22, 2008 at 7:34 PM

    the cats are out of the bag, eh?

    Yup, yup they are. – A-kay

     
  2. revathi

    June 22, 2008 at 11:14 PM

    hero pen – thats me !!!
    nice to know secrets about u !

    I guess almost all of us had a hero pen 🙂 – A-kay

     
  3. Happy Cook

    June 22, 2008 at 11:53 PM

    Oh yes I do remember the hero pen 🙂
    Well that i am really surprised that you have never tasted coffee, shocking !!!!yeah and my hubby too never buya book if he thinks he can’t read it a second time. There are times when heread the same book more then three timesand i am like didn’t u read this book few months back

    I have few books that I have read so many times that I have lost count now 🙂 One such book that springs to mind is “Sivagamiyin Sabadam” (Sivagami’s vow – Pavithra is doing an awesome job of translating this master-piece). – A-kay

     
  4. Laksh

    June 23, 2008 at 12:26 AM

    Ahh! the hero pen. Mine was Black 🙂 I remember the royal blue ink we used to buy too. The Hero pens were easy to fill too. Thanks for the lovely memory.

    And they never leaked ink. – A-kay

     
  5. Me

    June 23, 2008 at 12:34 AM

    did i read it right…never tasted coffee aa… o0

    Aamam pa aamam 🙂 – A-kay

     
  6. Mitr

    June 23, 2008 at 3:43 AM

    A-kay,

    Thanks for the tag- done. Loved reading your secrets, helped knowing you better.

    Thanks for taking up the tag – likewise, loved reading yours. – A-kay

     
  7. Spillay

    June 23, 2008 at 6:34 AM

    WOW! Have never tasted coffee?? That’s amazing! Will try to complete my tag soon… bye

    Looking forward to reading your secrets 😛 – A-kay

     
  8. Uma

    June 23, 2008 at 8:08 AM

    wow, those are some open secrets now! he he! nice to know more about you. but never tasted coffee? I am still puzzled!

    🙂 – A-kay

     
  9. Cham

    June 23, 2008 at 11:37 AM

    Coffee never, you re really missing to taste the flavor :coffee:

    So I hear. I can only miss what I know, right? 🙂 – A-kay

     
  10. Apar

    June 23, 2008 at 2:13 PM

    I still remember the time we both spent on the balcony chatting through the night… one of the 2 conversations I have had through an entire night in my life. This is for the (g) on your list 😀

    Oh yes – I remember that well too. What a night it was 🙂 – A-kay

     
  11. Suganya

    June 24, 2008 at 4:41 AM

    Arguements and you- how could I ever forget them. 5 long years of arguing :flag:
    Sleeping and me are synonyms and I am still puzzled as to how could that be the same between us:-) I still have my hero pen (brown one with tapes around the broken end) and that is still a treasure to me:-)

    Yay Sugan – finally we found something that is common 😛 I remember your brown one and still have my green one too 🙂 – A-kay

     
  12. Mads

    June 24, 2008 at 7:11 AM

    Hey A-kay.Oh my god you have never had coffee… even during all those chat session at WT? Wow amazing.

    I drank chai instead :P. – A-kay

     
  13. Raaga

    June 24, 2008 at 3:28 PM

    You’ve been tagged: http://onlineraga.blogspot.com/2008/06/plain-old-meme.html

    I remember hero pens 🙂 was thinking of those when I saw the new Vodafone ad 🙂

     
  14. UL

    July 23, 2008 at 10:30 AM

    Hey nice to hear your tid-bit sh’s…what I found intriguing are arguments and bonding….understandable.

     
  15. SPillay

    August 7, 2008 at 8:12 AM

    Hi A-Kay. I’ve finally done the tag!!! I must apologise about the delay 😛 . Sorry…..

     

Leave a Reply

 
