RSS

Thai Peanut Sauce

15 Jun

May be due to the use of similar spices or an abundance of coconut and peanut in the food – whatever it be, most Indians especially South Indians really like Thai Food. I have made Pad Thai at home and when I saw this recipe, I knew I had a perfect recipe for a peanut sauce. Thanks Susan. This sauce is perfect with tofu and veggies on brown rice for dinner or as a side to tofu for hors dā€™ oeuvres.

Thai Sauce


4 tbsp creamy peanut butter
3/4 cup vegetable broth (or use water)
1/4 cup coconut milk
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp Asian chili sauce
1 tbsp maple syrup

Heat peanut butter and vegetable broth on stove-top.

Slowly add in coconut milk, soy & chilli sauces and maple syrup and cook together.

Turn off the gas, and add lime juice.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2008 in Cooking, Thai

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Thai Peanut Sauce

  1. Shankari

    June 15, 2008 at 2:18 PM

    I make this peanut sauce, but add brown sugar instead of maple syrup. šŸ˜‰

     
  2. Srivalli

    June 15, 2008 at 2:41 PM

    looks wonderful..will try it sometime!

     
  3. Happy Cook

    June 15, 2008 at 7:26 PM

    Yumm looks really delicious.

     
  4. Madhuram

    June 15, 2008 at 8:40 PM

    I have not cooked Thai at home. Sometime back I went to a Thai restaurant and didn’t like the food, everything was smelling weird. So sort of Thai Phobic.

    I think if I myself start cooking, I will like it.
    This recipe looks very simple also, maybe I should start with this one and Mansi’s soup recipe.

    I absolutely love Thai food – you should definitely try it @ home. – A-kay

     
  5. Lekhni

    June 16, 2008 at 12:18 AM

    Have you posted your Pad Thai recipe on your blog? I might try that sometime.

    Also, you are tagged!

    Not yet – hopefully will appear soon. – A-kay

     
  6. vandana rajesh

    June 16, 2008 at 1:05 PM

    Agree with u that South Indians generally like the Thai flavor and there is a lot of similraity in the cooking styles. Great peanut sauce.

    Thanks. Yes – I think it is may be because of the similar flora that thrives in comparable climatic condition. – A-kay

     
  7. RS

    July 28, 2008 at 8:19 AM

    Gonna try this with tofu tonight. Sounds mighty simple.

     

Leave a Reply

 
