RSS

Booky tag

03 Jun

Just when I was going through, what I thought was a blogger’s block, Rads of tunneling thru’ tagged me and also threw in a challenge. I am not sure if I beat her in the turnover rate but this is my personal best – responding to a tag within a few hours (as opposed to a few days). It was not just the challenge that spurred me on but also because this tag involved books – encouraging folks to pick a book that they might have forgotten and try to make them read the book.

The rules:

Pick up the nearest book.
Open to page 123.
Find the fifth sentence.
Post the next three sentences.
Tag five people, and acknowledge the person who tagged you

The book that I am presently reading (have been reading for a while now) is “Autobiography of a Yogi” by Paramahansa Yogananda. I have owned this book for almost 10 years now and the first time I started reading it, never completed it as it was way over my level of understanding. With a few years older and wiser (ahem…), I hope to see this book through this time. So far, I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this book except that this is not the kind of book you can finish at one-go, atleast for me.

Autobiograhy of a Yogi

“Kumar, a young villager from east Bengal, was accepted a fortnight later for ashram training. Remarkably intelligent, he quickly won Master’s affection. For some unfathomable reason, Sri Yukteswar adopted an uncritical attitude toward the new resident.

As per the rules, tagging:

1) Mitrideas
2) Roop
3) Usha
4) UL
5) Raaga
6) Cham

No pressure folks – feel free to not do the tag if you are not keen on it.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2008 in Books

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “Booky tag

  1. m's mom

    June 3, 2008 at 8:27 PM

    This is interesting
    But I am reading 2 books,a chapter a day from Sundarakandam & Narayaneeyam ;both in Tamil
    wish cud contribute to this chain

    Maami – please do so and it will be awesome. As you did not have a blog, I was not sure if you would like to take this up. You can use this space to post in this chain; looking forward to reading what you have to write. – A-kay

     
  2. Usha

    June 3, 2008 at 8:58 PM

    Easy one. Just needs typing. Will do this rightaway.

    Thanks Usha. Would love to know the book you are reading. – A-kay

     
  3. Mitr

    June 4, 2008 at 1:42 AM

    A-kay,

    Done booky tag. Thanks…wowed at your reading Autobiography of a Yogi, that is one heavy read.

    Just saw the tag in your blog – thanks for taking it up. Yup – it is a heavy read and I am barely finding my way through it. – A-kay

     
  4. Raaga

    June 4, 2008 at 8:59 PM

    will do 🙂

     
  5. m's mom

    June 4, 2008 at 11:45 PM

    thanx for the go ahead signal from u AKay :-))
    i’m extremely happy to share with all the visitors of ur blog,a few lines from the Prahalada charithra which happens to be in the page 123 of my Narayaneeyam book (pl excuse me for the language)
    “Athaikkanda Naradar,”Indakkuzhandaiyaal theengu varaadu” enru vaakkallithu,thaayaarai thamathu ashramathil vaithuk kaappaatrinaar.
    Garbaththil irukkum pozhude,Naradar thaayaarukku cheida upadesamellam,thaayaarukkup palikkavittaalum,kuzhandaiyai bhakthi shreshtanaaga cheidadu.
    Inda varalaatrai,Prahladan thannudan payindra gurukula manavargalidam piragu kooriyullan enru Bhagavathathil sollappattulladu”
    Isnt this the essence of prahalada ‘s birth?

    Mami – thanks for sharing this with us. It was really nice reading this snippet – makes me want to read this book. – A-kay

     
  6. UL

    June 5, 2008 at 9:42 AM

    Thank you Akay. I kind of dunked on this tag at my other blog a few months ago, I was too lazy…but this time I will definitely do it…btw, loved your choice of book…:)

     
  7. Raaga

    June 14, 2008 at 1:11 PM

     

Leave a Reply

 
