RSS

Thank thee with cake

27 May

I love anything sweet, no two ways about it; if it has milk, even better. My theory is anything (read any dessert / sweet) made with milk and sugar cannot taste bad. I love my pedhas, rasmalai, paal khova, shrikhand and the list is pretty much endless. The first time I heard about the Tres leches (Three milk in Spanish) cake, I knew it was my kind of cake. I never quite realized it was fairly easy to make at home, till I saw the recipe @ Mansi’s Fun and Food. So when presented with an opportunity to bake a cake (aka birthday of a near and dear one), no points for guessing the cake I made ๐Ÿ™‚

The difficulty for me while making this cake was getting the sponge cake right, as I was baking without eggs. I still have some way to go before getting it right, but overall I was satisfied with the end result.

I followed this recipe for the basic eggless sponge cake.

1 cup milk
1 can sweetened condensed milk
1 can evaporated milk
1 cup whipping cream
2 Tbsp powdered sugar
1 Tsp Vanilla Extract
1 cup raspberries

Cool the cake and poke the top of the cake with fork or toothpick.

Combine the 3 milk and pour it on top of the cake (line the bowl with plastic wrap for easy cleaning) and let it sit in the refrigerator for atleast 4-5 hours (overnight if possible).

Right before serving, mix the sugar and vanilla extract with whipping cream and beat it well, until it is thick and of spreadable consistency. Spread it over the cake and cover it with raspberries.

This is my entry to Ammalu’s kitchen for AFAM where the fruit of the month is Raspberry (thanks Madhuram!) and would like to tell Mansi that Your Recipe Rocks and if I may add, your blog too!

I thank Madhuram and Laksh for presenting me with these 2 awards:

In keeping with the tradition, I would like to pass on the Yummy Blog award to TheTasteTinkerer and Mythreyee of Paajaaka, and Chatty Blog award to Mitrideas and tunneling thru’.

 
24 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2008 in Cooking

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

24 responses to “Thank thee with cake

  1. Mythreyee

    May 27, 2008 at 11:59 AM

    thanks buddy…

    The cake looks so delicious. Nice recipe and I have to try this one.

    Congrats again ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks and let me know how it comes out! – A-kay

     
  2. Madhuram

    May 27, 2008 at 12:18 PM

    Congrats on the awards.

    The three milk topping sounds so delicious Akay. Maybe you can also send this to this month’s AFAM-Raspberry event.

    Thanks Madhu – just edited the post to include that and YRR. – A-kay

     
  3. Cham

    May 27, 2008 at 1:49 PM

    Looks delicious the tres leche :Yes: (by the way small correction it is spanish not french)

    Oops sorry – meant to write Spanish. Corrected it, thanks for pointing it out. – A-kay

     
  4. arundathi

    May 27, 2008 at 2:17 PM

    Gorgeous!

     
  5. rupa

    May 27, 2008 at 3:27 PM

    congrats on the award….cake looks so yum…and its eggless…perfect….pass me a slice….:)

    Thanks. Just a slice is enough? ๐Ÿ˜› – A-kay

     
  6. sia

    May 27, 2008 at 5:26 PM

    simply gorgeous!

    Thanks a ton! – A-kay

     
  7. rads

    May 27, 2008 at 8:09 PM

    That pic is positively yummy. Would be great in the afternoon when the sweet tooth fairy attacks ๐Ÿ™‚

    hehe, am chatty eh? Nice! Thank you Thanku ๐Ÿ™‚ http://madras2madurai.hopto.org/blog/wp-includes/images/smilies/friends.gif

    You are as chatty as I am ๐Ÿ˜› It was indeed yummy. – A-kay

     
  8. Happy Cook

    May 27, 2008 at 8:44 PM

    Superb delicious.
    Love the picture too

    Thanks. – A-kay

     
  9. Laksh

    May 27, 2008 at 10:10 PM

    Lovely!!! Makes me want to dig in ๐Ÿ™‚

    Catch a plane and come over. – A-kay

     
  10. Mitr

    May 28, 2008 at 12:31 AM

    A-kay,

    Thanks for the award…you made my day.Cake looks awesome.

    Thanks and congrats to you. – A-kay

     
  11. ranji

    May 28, 2008 at 12:42 AM

    the cake looks delcious …congrats on ur awards..

    Thanks Ranji. – A-kay

     
  12. Mansi

    May 28, 2008 at 4:47 AM

    That’s my FAVORITE cake A-kay!! can I pls pls have a bite??:)

    glad you tried it out and that it came out so good!:)

    Thanks – but for you, I wouldn’t have thought it was so do-able ๐Ÿ™‚ – A-kay

     
  13. Me

    May 28, 2008 at 5:34 AM

    ..i used to be proud of my cooking skills before i hopped on to your blog..not any more…every time i come here..i get demoralized & go back..

    Oh oh… As much as I am thrilled that is so not my intention. For a change, how abt getting inspired instead of demoralized… hmm… hmm… – A-kay

     
  14. TheTasteTinkerer

    May 28, 2008 at 9:36 AM

    Hey A-Kay..the cake looks lovely and what a unique frosting!! And, thanks so much for the award!! ^:)^ http://madras2madurai.hopto.org/blog/wp-includes/images/smilies/worship.gif

    Am really honored!

    Thanks TT and Congrats! – A-kay

     
  15. UL

    May 28, 2008 at 11:05 AM

    yes yum… and congrats ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thanks UL. – A-kay

     
  16. m's mom

    May 28, 2008 at 5:53 PM

    Is there any way to eat the cake from the pic????????;wish I had the super natural power to do so;I WANT TO TASTE IT RT NOW

    ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish I could send it to you as well. – A-kay

     
  17. Me

    May 29, 2008 at 6:20 AM

    ok..let me start with something basic..like…mmm..mini muffins & then graduate to cakes like this.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh that sounds yummy – banana nut perhaps? – A-kay

     
  18. Maggie

    May 29, 2008 at 6:57 AM

    I ordered the Safeway Tres leche cake with strawberries & whipping cream filling last week for a baby shower and see this on your site ๐Ÿ™‚
    Now i am going to bake this for Father’s day ๐Ÿ™‚ (i know making it up becuz tis the next “day” on the calendar)
    however, for the eggless sponge cake i feel the version with condensed milk tastes better (atleast D & I feel so) becuz you don’t taste any “oil” and its silkier.
    Ingredients

    200 gms sweetened condensed milk
    140 gms (5 oz) self-raising flour
    60 ml melted butter or margarine
    1 level tsp baking powder
    half tsp baking soda
    1 tsp vanilla extract

    Instructions

    1. Sieve the flour, baking powder and baking soda together.
    2. Mix the ingredients together, add 75ml water and beat well.
    3. Grease and dust a 6 inch diameter cake tin. Pour the mixture into the prepared tin and bake in the pre-heated oven at 400F for 10 mins. Thereafter reduce the temp to 300F and bake for a further 10 mins. Cool the cake.

    Yup – I have made this cake as well with dried fruits for a nice tutti-fruiti cake ๐Ÿ™‚ But given that I was using condensed milk for soaking the cake, I didn’t want to use it in making the cake as well – too much sugar and fat overload ๐Ÿ™‚ – A-kay

     
  19. m's mom

    May 29, 2008 at 3:48 PM

    ye te Maggie!!!!!!!!!!!

     
  20. Srivalli

    May 30, 2008 at 3:37 PM

    a-kay..that cake looks so yummy!..what a colour…wonderful!..thanks for sharing an eggless version..makes it easy to try!

    Thanks! I am always in the quest for eggless recipes too. – A-kay

     
  21. Amy B

    May 31, 2008 at 11:14 PM

    Ooooh! This looks so yummy – I can see myself with a big spoon eating straight from the dish. The raspberries add such a nice flash of color too. Well done!

    xoxox Amy

    Thanks Amy! I love raspberries with cake or icecream – the color and the tartness they add is just so unique! – A-kay

     
  22. Alex

    July 16, 2009 at 12:15 PM

    i m not into cakes but this one looks really delicious. thanks for posting

     
  23. Mads

    October 4, 2010 at 7:22 AM

    Yummy Cake A-kay… visited your blog after a long time, looks cool.
    Planning to bake this or the cherry choco cake for AD’s b’day ‘morrow…you rock ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks Mads. Let me know how it turns out. – A-kay

     

Leave a Reply

 
