RSS

Mexican Grilled Sandwich

21 Apr

Ever since I saw this recipe at TasteTinkerer, my friendly neighborhood blog, I have been meaning to try this grilled sandwich with a Mexican twist. High in protein with very little fat aka nutritious and can be fixed in under 30 minutes, making it a perfect weekday dinner candidate.

Mexican grilled sandwich


For the Patty
1/2 can Refried Beans with Jalapeno peppers (Trader Joe’s)
1/2 can Organic Pinto Beans
Handful of chopped coriander
1/2 tsp of cumin powder
1/2 tsp of cayenne powder (more or less based on the preferred spice level)
1/2 cup of bread crumbs

2 slices of Mozzarella cheese
2 slices of onion
2 tsp of mustard
2 tsp of tomato ketchup
4 bread slices
2 tsp of oil

Mix all the patty ingredients except the bread crumbs. Divide and shape them into two patties. Coat with breadcrumbs and place them on a hot non-stick pan coated with a tsp of oil. Let them cook for about 5 minutes on each side.

Toast the bread slices, spread mustard and tomato ketchup on 2 slices. Stack onions, cheese and the patty (lettuce and tomatoes will be a good addition too), cook them on a pan again, just till the cheese starts to melt.

Sending this to Culinary Bazaar for the A.W.E.D event where the theme is Mexican.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2008 in Cooking, Mexican

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Mexican Grilled Sandwich

  1. Roop Rai

    April 21, 2008 at 7:31 PM

    i love mozzarella and tomato and bread!! :))) will try this once in tex-mex land of texas!! πŸ™‚

    I love cheese of any kind and shape – except the sharp, tangy ones πŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  2. Me

    April 22, 2008 at 12:16 AM

    have never tried anything mexican..will try it soon…

    I am not a huge fan of mexican cuisine – this was good though. – A-kay

     
  3. Medhaa

    April 22, 2008 at 2:50 AM

    hi,

    nice entry, they look great

    Thanks! -A-kay

     
  4. Siri

    April 22, 2008 at 5:12 AM

    Yummy.. :-)) I love Mexican cuisine, for the fact its as spicy as Indian.. :yahoo: great entry A-kay!

    Siri

    Not a huge fan of Mexican cuisine, but love this and the wraps. -A-kay

     
  5. Laksh

    April 22, 2008 at 5:16 AM

    Nice! Love that toasted bread pic. Not sure if I like mustard on my sandwich though πŸ˜›

    Well omit it then πŸ™‚ I like sandwiches for dinner just for this, I can add / omit toppings based on my taste and so can K. Easy and satisfying – no compromises! – A-kay

     
  6. Spillay

    April 22, 2008 at 6:55 AM

    Sounds divine! ^:)^ I must give it a try..

    BTW,…I love the smilies :yahoo: . Choosing which one to use is the challenging bit though.. Ha! Ha!

    Go beserk with similes – i love them too πŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  7. TheTasteTinkerer

    April 22, 2008 at 8:47 AM

    Looks really yummy, A-Kay….will try it soon!!

     
  8. Raaga

    April 22, 2008 at 5:26 PM

    Looks very nice

     
  9. UL

    April 23, 2008 at 7:31 PM

    another one for me, superb and thank you. :Yes:

    I know you are a sucker for these easy dishes just like me πŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  10. DK

    April 24, 2008 at 6:44 AM

    This is simply amazing! I will be trying it this weekend. Thanks for sharing this recipe for the event.

    P.S I have sent you a mail with a request. pls do chk when you get time :)I apprecite it

    Thanks DK. Your turn to check mail now πŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  11. Madhuram

    April 28, 2008 at 11:00 PM

    Another yummy recipe from you. My “to try” list is becoming unmanagable, partly because of you A-kay.

    One question, in one episode of Rachel Ray’s 30 minute meals, she mentioned that refried beans is beans fried in animal fat and there are vegetarian options available too. I couldn’t find it in my grocery store. Does Trader Joes have it?

    Yes – usually refried beans are beans fried in lard (pig fat). Trader Joes does carry vegetarian refried beans which is what I use. – A-kay

     
  12. Madhuram

    April 29, 2008 at 10:18 AM

    Thanks for the info. A-kay. I normally shop in the nearby grocery store, it’s just 5 min by walk. We have one Trader Joes and it’s quite far away. I wanted to confirm with you before going there.

     

Leave a Reply

 
