RSS

Hummer? Hormuz? Hummus!

07 Apr

No – it is not an off-roading gas guzzler nor is it any geographical entity, it is a mid-eastern protein packed spread that is considered one of the oldest prepared food known to mankind. The 2 main ingredients of hummus are chickpeas and sesame – both are extremely healthy and a nutritionist’s dream. In fact, the early rise and spread of the Mesopotamian civilization is attributed to the nutritional benefits of hummus. Whoa! I would have never connected or even imagined, that a success of a civilization could be due to food. There are times when I feel good about blogging, like when I meet new friends with similar interest or when I am exploring new (to me, that is) and different culture, and in turn, food. What I learnt about hummus made me realize why blogging is not just fun but also educational.

Hummus

I made not one, but 3 varieties of hummus – the plain (or vanilla) one, sun-dried tomato hummus and roasted red-pepper hummus. The base canvas for all three is the same, start with the regular, old-fashioned (in this case, quite literally) hummus. You will need:

  • 1 cup of pre-soaked, pressure-cooked chickpeas (reserve the water used in cooking)
  • 5 tsp of sesame butter (tahini)
  • Juice of a lemon
  • 2 tbsp EVOO
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 tsp of salt

Blend chickpeas , tahini in the food-processor along with lemon juice, EVOO and garlic. Add some reserved water, if it is too thick, and mix in the salt, add more or less depending on your palette. (Thanks m’s mom!)

Drain the contents in a bowl and drizzle few drops of EVOO on top and add some olives for garnish.

Sun-dried Tomato Hummus: Soak 4-5 pieces of sun-dried tomatoes in boiling water for a few minutes. Chop them and add it to the plain hummus, and mix it well. Add a few more on top for garnish

Roasted red-pepper Hummus: Chop roasted red-peppers and add it to the plain hummus, and mix it well. Add a few more on top for garnish.

Notes:

  1. For a stronger flavor, you can blend the sun-dried tomato or red-pepper along with the hummus.
  2. To know how to roast red-pepper @ home, check this post.
 
15 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2008 in Cooking, Mid-Eastern

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Hummer? Hormuz? Hummus!

  1. Madhavi

    April 7, 2008 at 2:56 PM

    Hi, Very nice recipe :)) Thanxx for visiting my blog!!

     
  2. dhivya

    April 7, 2008 at 2:56 PM

    this one looks real yumm girl:))and think u’ve mis understood me and divya vikram….birthday baby is <A HREF=” http://divya-dilse.blogspot.com/divya from dilse

     
  3. dhivya

    April 7, 2008 at 2:59 PM

    that one was wrong..http://divya-dilse.blogspot.com/

     
  4. m's mom

    April 7, 2008 at 4:46 PM

    Is this hummus spread made without salt?I dont know how tahini tastes;(may be it has a dash of salt)when u add lime juice & garlic,I’m afraid u do need salt to neutralise the total effect on ur taste buds

    Yup mami – you are absolutely right. It does require salt, I missed it out (blame it on stress @ work πŸ™‚ ) – the recipe is fixed now. Thanks for pointing it out. -A-kay

     
  5. Laksh

    April 7, 2008 at 11:08 PM

    Thanks! One recipe I have been wanting to try for a while now. Tired of sweet spreads for my morning breakfast.

    If you don’t like sweet spreads, have you tried almond butter? -A-kay

     
  6. Cham

    April 8, 2008 at 1:15 AM

    healthy hummus looks delish.

    Thanks Cham! -A-kay

     
  7. Mythryee

    April 8, 2008 at 1:24 AM

    Looks fantastic Akay. Love the different color toppings. I love this with olives and tomatoes. A healthy delicious recipe. Thanks.

    Yes – very healthy indeed. -A-kay

     
  8. Madhuram

    April 8, 2008 at 1:23 PM

    I also prepare hummus at home, but I reduce the quantity of tahini. I have not tried the flavored ones. Thanks for sharing.

    I quite like the nutty flavor of tahini acutally. I have seen lots of flavored varieties in Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods, they are all pretty good although my favorite is the roasted pepper. – A-kay

     
  9. rads

    April 8, 2008 at 11:45 PM

    Ive never tried making it at home considering you get such a variety, but I know, home made has a thrill and taste to it that can’t be ‘bought’!

    I totally am loving the icons. haha. Do you mind if I go bersek with them? πŸ˜€
    :yahoo: :whistle: πŸ˜› bye

    Likewise – I normally buy hummus, don’t make it @ home. But I made it this time for a friend who requested this recipe πŸ™‚ -A-kay

     
  10. Anu

    April 9, 2008 at 1:06 AM

    A-kay,

    this is so good….I love red peppers and can now put them to use on hummus.

    Yup – so many uses for red peppers πŸ™‚ -A-kay

     
  11. Vegeyum Ganga

    April 9, 2008 at 6:07 AM

    Hi A-Kay, love that you made hummus. I was wondering about EVO – is that olive oil?

    Your photos are great too. I love the thought of dried tomatoes with the hummus.

    I am going to link to this from my hummus recipe if you don’t mind. Thanks also for yr New Year wishes and I will watch for your post.

    Absolutely, I am honored πŸ™‚ I love dried tomatoes, and try to sneak it in most of the dishes that I make. -A-kay

     
  12. Miri

    April 9, 2008 at 2:54 PM

    Just made hummus at home for the first time last week – and i think it was totally worth it too!Your other versions with sun dried tomatoes etc looks great too!

    Thanks – I am so glad you really liked it. – A-kay

     
  13. the Hummus guy

    April 11, 2008 at 6:39 PM

    It’s good you’re using dried chickpeas. Most recipes I came by used canned chickpeas, which has an after taste and aren’t hardly as nutritious as dried chickpeas.

    One correction though: in order to get the real hummus flavor, you should use much more tahini. And I say that after researching about 80 of the best hummus places in the middle east and testing dozens of recipes. You can check my blog for extra tips.

    I don’t like the after taste of canned chickpeas too. Will definitely check your site, thanks for stopping by. A-kay

     
  14. Janet

    April 23, 2008 at 5:22 PM

    Its very sweetest one. I like to this very much. Thanks for the nice observations.

     

Leave a Reply

 
