RSS

Grilled Pears

01 Apr

I have been meaning to post a recipe for this month’s AFAM, hosted by Raaga. Pear, being my husband’s favorite fruit, gets consumed as is before I get a chance to do something with it. I saw the ultimatum in Raaga’s post and realized today is my last chance to write a post about pears.

Grilled Pears


Spring is definitely here and the days are getting bright and sunny – I am already looking forward to Summer. I can’t wait to start grilling as this is one of my favorite ways to eat fruits. Grilling caramelizes the sugar in the fruit, increasing the natural sweetness and adding a different dimension to its taste. Pears, melons, strawberries, pineapple are all perfect for grilling. But in line with this month’s AFAM theme, we are grilling only pears 🙂

Grilling indoors is super-easy and simple. Place a grill-pan on the stove-top and coat it with cooking spray. Slice pears (or any other fruit that you are using) to about 1/4″ thickness. Place the pears on the pan and cook on each for about 4-5 mins. Caution: Do not move the slices while grilling, if you want to get beautiful grill marks.

Grilled Pears Another

Grilled pears can be eaten as is, or with ice-cream. You can also eat it with balsamic reduction – boil 1/2 cup of balsamic vinegar with a tsp of sugar, till it reduces to half its original volume. Better still, arrange the pears on a dessert plate, drizzle the balsamic reduction over and around the fruit and complete it with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream and cherry on top. Elegant dessert!

Update:  Sending this over to Abby for this month’s Monthly Mingle where the theme for the month is Spring Fruit sensations.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2008 in Cooking

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “Grilled Pears

  1. Mythreyee

    April 1, 2008 at 2:03 PM

    Looks fantastic Akay. Recipe is very easy. I have done a similar version with pineapple. I have to try with pears now.

    Pineappale are good too. You can actually try a combination of fruits, and make a fruit salad out of it. -A-kay

     
  2. Raaga

    April 1, 2008 at 2:06 PM

    Looks so tempting. Thanks A-Kay

     
  3. Laksh

    April 1, 2008 at 10:52 PM

    Looks super easy. This is something I can and will try for pears are one of my favs as well. Enna a post a day neeyum poda poraya 🙂

    Chance-e illai. Too much work 🙂 I had to post yest, as yest was the last day for AFAM – A-kay

     
  4. Lakshmi

    April 1, 2008 at 11:03 PM

    Looks so yummy! What is this grill pan that you use for indoor grilling? Is it something that we can put on the stove top or is it a separate instrument? I guess among the food gurus, this would be a silly question, but I just had to ask 🙂

    Well, there are different kinds actually. I use a grill-pan, something similar to this. This is a stove-top one as against a grill, which comes in different shapes and sizes for both outdoor and indoor use. -A-kay

     
  5. Uma

    April 2, 2008 at 1:03 AM

    They look wonderful. mouth-watering.

    Tasted delicious too 🙂 -A-kay

     
  6. Cham

    April 2, 2008 at 1:45 AM

    Grilling marks are perfect. Wonderful grilled fruit

    Thanks Cham! -A-kay

     
  7. Lakshmi

    April 2, 2008 at 4:00 AM

    Thanks! Will defn check out the local store. This can be used to make grilled sandwiches also I guess illa?

    Yup and wait for my next post 🙂 -A-kay

     
  8. Anu

    April 2, 2008 at 5:08 AM

    A-kay,

    Pears has never been on my list of consumable fruits- maybe this grilling would make an improvised taste- Thanks!

    Same here – it is not my favorite fruit for sure. But grilling makes it better 🙂 -A-kay

     
  9. Mansi

    April 2, 2008 at 6:59 AM

    Grilled pears really taste great! I grill them even for my salads! nice entry, and better late than never!:)

    Oh! Do you? I never grill fruits for salad but sounds delicious. Will try that out next time. -A-kay

     
  10. Madhuram

    April 2, 2008 at 9:54 AM

    Again we have something common here, pears are my husband’s favorite too. He eats one pear everyday. I never thought of grilling it. Actually I haven’t grilled anything so far. I think I’m gonna purchase a grill pan very soon. I have an electric range and not a gas stove, so do all grill pans give the same result regardless of the type of stove? I appreciate your input very much, so that I can buy accordingly.

    Yes – I think the grill pans will work the same way regardless of the kind of stove that you have. You might want to read this if you have a ceramic flat-top surface. Otherwise, you should be good to go with a stove-top grill pan. Let me know if you have more questions. -A-kay

     
  11. Madhuram

    April 2, 2008 at 1:23 PM

    Thank you very much for the info, A-kay. Mine is a regular electric range, so I think any pan should be fine, like you have mentioned.

     
  12. abby

    April 3, 2008 at 5:42 PM

    good looking pears a-kay – i never have the patience to avoid moving them and always end up with smudged griddle marks. thanks for sharing this with the monthly mingle.

    Yup – patience is the key for those awesome griddle marks. Learnt it the hard way! -A-kay

     
  13. UL

    April 5, 2008 at 1:14 PM

    perfect slices Akay…and i love these smileys you have here…mind if i try one with each comment… :yahoo:

    Type away 🙂 -A-kay

     
  14. Meena Srinivasan

    April 7, 2008 at 2:38 PM

    I have been a silent reader of your blog for months but this post totally deserves a comment. The picture looked inviting and my mouth just started to water. I am definitely going to try this. Thanks and keep the recipes coming

    Glad to see a comment from a lurker 🙂 Grilled pears, for that matter any fruit, is just awesome. Thanks for stopping by! -A-kay

     
  15. Meeta

    April 11, 2008 at 10:05 PM

    I really love grilled fruit and this is simply lovely! Thanks for sharing this for the the MM!

     

Leave a Reply

 
