RSS

Balanced Breakfast

29 Mar

I am so not a morning person, and cooking in the morning is a daunting task for me. So, our breakfast almost always is toast with Almond Butter (and / or Fruit Preserves), or else oats with berries and almonds. There are quite a few traditional Indian breakfast foods that are hearty and eating them in the morning provides a wholesome, delicious way to start the day, e.g. Pongal, the protein-packed adai or parathas. As much as I would love to eat a delicious home-cooked breakfast, I usually abhor stepping into the kitchen in the AM. This is the norm… And then, there are days when you break the norm and today was one such day. Paneer Paratha. I had some left-over paneer in the fridge from the Chilli Panner and Mansi’s WBB event, originally started by Nandita of Saffron Trail, enticed me into cooking for breakfast.

Paneer Paratha


Shred Paneer and keep it aside. Follow the instructions here to make the paratha, using paneer instead of the potato stuffing.

Notes:

Balanced Meal Our breakfast today was paneer paratha with hummus and Orange Juice. This covers all the 4 food group actually – fruits (OJ), Whole grain and dairy (Paneer Paratha) and Protein (hummus).

P.S.: For a quick breakfast on the go, I like to prepare a smoothie with a handful each of cherries, berries (strawberry & raspberry preferably) and OJ. Add a spoonful of Whey protein when you blend the smoothie.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2008 in Cooking, Desi

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Balanced Breakfast

  1. Laksh

    March 30, 2008 at 1:28 AM

    Nice! Looks wholesome and filling. Wonder if this can qualify as brunch. Thanks for the link to the wheat flour.

    Well, if you have more than one, then it definitely becomes a brunch πŸ™‚ -A-kay

     
  2. Mansi

    March 30, 2008 at 2:42 AM

    Hey A-kay, thanks so much for the extra effort making these parathas in the morning! they look great:) thanks for participating in WBB!:)

    Thanks to you for making me prepare such a good breakfast πŸ™‚ -Akay

     
  3. Spillay

    March 30, 2008 at 6:37 AM

    Hi A-Kay. I really admire you – putting effort into breakfast is a good thing!!!

    Happens once in a blue-moon, so ain’t that difficult πŸ˜› -A-kay

     
  4. sreelu

    March 30, 2008 at 12:56 PM

    A-kay, Paneer paratha are my favorite too. looks great πŸ™‚

    Thanks Sreelu. -A-kay

     
  5. TheCooker

    March 31, 2008 at 12:34 AM

    A-Kay, the parathas looks fantastic. And that generous blob of butter……. πŸ™‚

    Thanks! He he… that was only for the picture πŸ˜› – A-kay

     
  6. UL

    March 31, 2008 at 1:48 AM

    My favorite meal is breakfast, and your post makes me long for such a balanced diet…i love parathas and yours melts like the butter in the pic, i bet…

     
  7. Madhuram

    April 1, 2008 at 11:08 AM

    I wish I was somewhere near your place. I will be having a feast every day.

    As I have mentioned to you earlier, my husband does not like paneer so much, so I make these parathas with tofu instead. It’s also very tasty. You should also try it.

    I think I will, as both of us really like tofu. What kind of tofu do you buy? And do you grate the tofu? -A-kay

     
  8. Madhuram

    April 2, 2008 at 9:45 AM

    I buy the extra firm tofu for the chapathis. Take it out from the package, lay it on a couple of kitchen towels, wrap it up and place some weight on top it, so that the towels will soak the water. Set it aside for 10-15 minutes, more is also fine. Then grate them and add salt any other seasoning of your choice, I use garam masala powder. Then it’s the usual stuffed chapathi method.

    Thanks for the detailed explanation. Will try it out and let you know. -A-kay

     

Leave a Reply

 
