RSS

Peppery Addiction

04 Feb

When there are folks in the blogosphere who make their hatred towards this green one public, can I, the bell-pepper addict keep quiet? Armed with an awesome Italian stuffed bell-pepper, here I am shouting from the rooftop, to my favorite one’s rescue. Look at these succulent green peppers – how can one not like them? I wonder…

Stuffed Pepper


I followed the recipe verbatim, a very simple one, perfect even for a weekday dinner. The only change I did was use Mozzarella instead of Pecorino Romano, as I had it handy and also there is this minor issue of K not eating any other cheese but Mozzarella. Try it, all you pepper-haters and let me know if you have a change of heart!

PS: I substituted veggie broth for chicken broth.Ā  Thanks for pointing that out, Laksh & Anamika.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 4, 2008 in Cooking, Italian

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Peppery Addiction

  1. sig

    February 4, 2008 at 4:17 PM

    Whatttt? There are pepper haters out there?? How is it possible? These look so scrumptious…

    I know… Say that loud and clear šŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  2. Laksh

    February 4, 2008 at 11:49 PM

    Not even these lovely pictures will make me try one. God! I hate these things!! šŸ™‚

    hmm… Don’t say that too soon – A-kay

     
  3. vimmi

    February 5, 2008 at 2:12 AM

    peppers look delicious. my mom made ones stuffed with potatoes.

    Yes, the potato-stuffed ones are soooooo good. Laborious process though šŸ˜¦ – A-kay

     
  4. Kaykat

    February 5, 2008 at 10:39 AM

    Yum! These look delicious! Pepper haters are missing out on some serious goodness here.

    Yup – totally agree with you. -A-kay

     
  5. patsyk

    February 6, 2008 at 2:43 AM

    These look so good! Was the mint a strong flavor? Not sure how my hubby would go for that if it’s strong. Do you think Basil would change the overall flavor too much?

    Just found your blog today! I have more reading to do!

    Actually I couldn’t feel the mint at all and it gave a nice subtle flavor to the dish. That said, I think Basil or even Parsley would be a nice replacement. You might want go a little easy on Basil, if you use it. – A-kay

     
  6. Maggie

    February 6, 2008 at 6:22 AM

    Sure looks and sounds delicious – As much as a cheese lover that i was, I have tried to stay away from it recently after “discovering” how Rennet is acquired. Even cheeses called “Organic” have Rennet in them. There is by far only one variety in Whole foods that specifically says “not from Animal Rennet”

    Stick to paneer šŸ™‚ with the hope that store bought paneer in the US does not have Rennet!!

    Yes – I have heard all about rennet too. Thankfully fresh cheese doesn’t contain rennet which is where Mozzarella comes to our rescue šŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  7. anamika

    February 8, 2008 at 4:26 AM

    The recipe uses chicken broth. Are you a vegetarian?
    If yes,did you substitute with veg broth?

    Yes, I did use the veggie broth. Fixed the post now – thanks for pointing that out šŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  8. m's mom

    February 10, 2008 at 1:58 AM

    vow!
    Hats off to both of u (A & K)—theres a saying in Tamil which goes………AAll paadi aadai paadi.Both of u complement each other

    the only difficulty in these stuffed veggies(bell pepper or tomatoes or whatever)is the logistics involved in consumung them!!!!!!They too big ;when u cut them to pieces to eat,it loses its wholesomeness in the taste.

    Thanks mami šŸ™‚ They sure look very good and the taste can get a little compromised as you said. I could taste the bell pepper flavor in the filling, so I guess prolonged cooking is the key for stuffed veggies. – A-kay

     
  9. m's mom

    February 11, 2008 at 12:19 AM

    Dear A
    getting addicted to ur blog —I look for something fresh everyday in ur blog,as one wud peep into the kitchen to c ‘whats for for lunch today”
    Hope u’ll cater to my huuuuuuuungry stomach ‘s needs periodically!!!!!!!!

    Will do my best mami šŸ™‚ Thanks for your kind words, overwhelmed šŸ™‚ – A-kay

     
  10. bhags

    February 11, 2008 at 2:50 AM

    Let me confess, I used to hate these greens as a child, but now have fallen in love with them and with all the others with different colors…….and now wont mind accompanying you on that roof top

    Yay… more company. Watch out folks, we are coming šŸ™‚ – A-kay

     

Leave a Reply

 
