RSS

Carrot Cabbage Paratha

22 Aug

My in-laws are leaving for India tomorrow and last time when they had come to the US, I bought for them some awesome home-made chappathis to take on their flight journey. They were made by a Punjabi lady – perks of living in the Bay Area I guess 🙂 They really cherished it, as my MIL did not have to cook right after she landed in India. She could get by a day or two with these chappathis. Fast forward 2 years. My MIL wanted me to buy her some chappathis to eat during travel and afterwards. GOK (for the uninitiated, God Only Knows), where the chappathi-lady is now. How can you say no to a request from your MIL? 😛 Thus started my hunt for finding someone who can make good chappathis.

The quest reached my neighbors’ ears and I must add here that I have the best neighbors one can possibly imagine. That can be a post in itself and let me not digress! To cut a long story short, my neighbor “K” (a seasoned cook) offered to help me and got me all excited about making our own parathas (better to eat during travel as per her and I ain’t questioning). We roped in another neighbor “M” in this ordeal and thus began our odyssey. We had a cook-together session and made about a truck load of parathas 🙂 It was so much fun and all of us enjoyed this thoroughly and have made a pact to carry this tradition forward. Thanks M & K!

K likes and cooks a lot of Tarla Dalal’s recipes and the paratha of the day was from Tarla Dalal’s Achaar Aur Parathe. We, of course modified it slightly to suit our palate and pantry stock 🙂

3/4 cup of atta (wheat flour)
1/4 cup of besan (red gram flour)
1/2 cup carrot grated
1/2 cup cabbage grated
3 green chillies minced
1/4″ ginger piece minced (alternatively make a fine ground paste of ginger & green chillies)
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp amchur powder (or 1 tbsp lemon juice)
1/4 cup yoghurt

Mix all the ingredients together and knead well to make a soft dough. Sprinkle water, if need be, to make the dough more pliable. Make small balls of the dough and roll out with a rolling pin. Roast the parathas on a hot griddle (or tava). Cook well on both sides till they are golden brown. Add a drop of oil (you can omit this step, if you are eating it fresh) and cook for about 20 secs on both sides.

Detailed step-by-step instructions on how to make chappathi here.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 22, 2007 in Cooking, Desi

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Carrot Cabbage Paratha

  1. Julia

    February 13, 2008 at 7:07 AM

    Yum, I’ll certainly give this recipe a go. I might substitute mung flour for besan (pantry stock!) Great idea turning paratha into wraps. Glad you spoke up on my blog, cause now I’ve found yours. Blog rolled you too.

    So happy to see you hear. Thanks for blog rolling me. I have started reading about Ayurveda and was absolutely glad to find your blog. – A-kay

     

Leave a Reply

 
